The Bull Dancer

For Creativity Challenge: Day 3 word is Acceptance
http://1sojournal.wordpress.com

bull-dancer

The Bull Dancer

Sit crossed-legged to morning,
unraveling words like Ariadne’s thread,
following them through labyrinth
seeking jewel like poem,
hidden treasure I know
must be somewhere near center.

Instead, find Minotaur,
enraged in his cage,
angered by his own ugliness.

Head lowered, red eyes glowing,
smoke trailing from his nostrils
as he charges me and my meager
weapons of paper and pen.

Leap over his back,
writing furiously until he turns,
and I can show him how, even he
might be made beautiful.

Elizabeth Crawford 11/23/2016

Notes: This is a very old poem that never saw daylight. As a beginning student of History, I was fascinated by the beautiful tiles of the Bull Dancers of the ancient Minoan culture of Crete. It was a sacred ritual and is still practiced (in modern form) in the South of France. I was already familiar with the Greek myth of Theseus, Ariadne, and the Minotaur in the Labyrinth.   Later, when I began writing poetry, I sort of fused that altogether in this poem. Today’s Challenge is the word acceptance. And acceptance, like love, must begin at home. We all have a dark side, or shadow aspect in our personality. I believe that creative endeavors often lead us toward understanding those shadow aspects and accepting them. The poem was one of my earliest attempts to convey that reality.

Save

Save

Save

About 1sojournal

Loves words and language. Dances on paper to her own inner music. Loves to share and keeps several blogs to facilitate that. They can be found here: http://1sojournal.wordpress.com/ https://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/ http://claudetteellinger.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in The Bull Dancer and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Bull Dancer

  1. Brava! I loved revisiting the poem after reading your notes. The Buddhist calls the process of accepting and loving yourself maitri. Pema Chodron says “Maitri is about beginning to make friends with oneself.” I agree with a feeling in your poem, that sometimes that process includes embracing our monsters. Thank you for this piece. I’m glad I popped over to read it prior to starting my own.

    The ending of your poem is perfect. Yes, let’s polish our monsters beautiful!

    Like

  2. Sherry Marr says:

    To “show him how even he may be made beautiful.” A tall order for some monsters. But I do love this concept, and your imagery is so clear, I can see his little red eyes. Oh, wait, that was the tv news. LOL.

    Like

  3. Susan says:

    I identify with expecting beauty and finding a monster. This poem shows a beautiful way, beauty as it can be.

    Like

  4. Pingback: and so I sit | undercaws

Leave a Reply

