Some Fancy Footwork

 

PAD Challenge #15  For Poetic Asides

For today’s prompt, write a “just when you thought it was safe” poem.

Some Fancy Footwork

Getting close now, to an ending,
bending toward that finish line,
defined by random circumstances.
Suddenly know what had been unknown.
Dancing with a devil, that knows
no fear, can only hear his constant
laughter.

Would like to start brand new chapter,
but last one isn’t done, barely begun,
or so it seems. So, we dance: two
steps forward, then three back,
while trying to avoid widening crack
in concrete at our feet.

Would love to stop, but that is not
an option, must keep prancing, always
looking for chance to find completion.
Neatly folded, tied into bundle to be
shuffled off to Buffalo.

Right. Like, where the hell is Buffalo,
and why would anyone go there? Can’t
find a prayer that would work, not become
more than knee jerk reaction. Never
factored a plan to follow and hollow
feeling keeps right on unreeling. Finds
no traction for further action that might
be taken, and faking it is way too much effort.

Meanwhile, that heavy breather draws
ever nearer, and just keeps
laughing.                      

Elizabeth Crawford  11/15/10

About 1sojournal

Loves words and language. Dances on paper to her own inner music. Loves to share and keeps several blogs to facilitate that. They can be found here: https://1sojournal.wordpress.com/ https://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/ http://claudetteellinger.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Some Fancy Footwork and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Some Fancy Footwork

  1. vivinfrance says:

    Getting close to an ending? We’re only half way there! I like the poem,and the title. You have caught the feel of “Stop the World, I want to get off”.
    You also have some great metaphors and slant rhymes. I’m full of admiration.

    Viv, the title of this poem is one of the few things I can actually say I like about it. Because that’s exactly what I was doing. Fancy footwork to get myself beyond the prompt and put it behind me. I did and that may be the only satisfaction I get out of it, lol. Don’t tell anyone, but I’m thinking that laughing devil is named Robert.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  2. When you spoke of the dancing with the devil, I thought of his breath. As he drew nearer I could feel it. And at the end of your poem you spoke of it. I like what you wrote very much!

    Annell, I only wish I did. Like it, I mean. We were told at the beginning of the challenge that drafts were acceptable. This may be one draft that gets completely scratched. It will certainly need time and a lot more patience than I have in the moment. Thanks for your comments though, I’m feeling a bit hassled today,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  3. Checked back…perhaps it is all a joke signaled by your title, Fancy Footwork. You know it is said, if you want to make God laugh, make a plan. Tomorrow I will go to Kerrville, TX to see my Mom and my sister, I will try to use her computer, and will try to stay in touch, back the 23rd.

    Annell, yes, the title was a bit tongue in cheek. Fancy footwork can be done by fingers forming words then leaping over them while still making some attempt at balance. I think I only managed to land on my butt this time, lol. At least I have the comfort of knowing that I’m not laughing alone, as you say. Hope you have a good trip and enjoy yourself. I too am working on a short trip. See you when you return if not before,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  4. pamela says:

    Elizabeth,
    I like this very much. You have created some powerful images here. The last stanza is chilling.
    Pamela

    Pamela, thanks for the encouraging words. I don’t particularly like the poem, but that might change later, though I doubt it. Might be better if I wait awhile and start over fresh.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  5. Mary says:

    I like the flow of words in this poem. And there are so many lines that I love…and the internal rhymes. You’re definitely right about stopping not being an option. We just have to keep prancing along. Well written, Elizabeth.

    Lol, yes we do, even if we go out of town to visit a new grandbaby, we still have to rush back and then play catch up. I’m glad you like the poem, they are beginning to get a bit blurred for me. But, I still wouldn’t quit. And believe you feel the same,

    Elizabeth

    Like

Leave a comment