Winning Word Play

 

Today, words dance,
prance in front of me
because they know we are
going to make poetry.
Bend and twist, like some
sort of misty chorus line,
insist on being known, showing
some leg, flash of an ankle
and even more as they
pour onto stage inside
my head.

Not like last week
when I needed them,
and they would play
hide and seek, staying
just out of reach, giggling
at my frustration. Teasing
with a fleeting glimpse,
becoming playful imps,
then running away, intent
on the chase, while setting
a pace this old woman
could not keep, making
me weep in utter defeat
at their lack of cooperation.

But now, slide with ease
down seemingly greased
tunnel to ear, and I hear
each one plop into place
extending their grace
as I bend this pen to their
intended performance.

“It’s Sunday,” they say,
“so we will behave, be good,
be nice, but add needed spice
to those aging and stiffened
fingers. Limber up that
flagging desire with bits
of warm fire, gathered sticks
from your very own experience.
Reward you for staying true,
and patiently faithful to
our long ago agreed upon
purpose.”

And I?
I let them, of course,
as with gentle affection
they drape a wide blue ribbon
across my shoulders, then pat
it in place with bright smiling
faces, “so that everyone will know,
and can see, that together, we
are the only true winners.”

Elizabeth Crawford 1/11/09

About 1sojournal

Loves words and language. Dances on paper to her own inner music. Loves to share and keeps several blogs to facilitate that. They can be found here: http://1sojournal.wordpress.com/ https://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/ http://claudetteellinger.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Winning Word Play and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Winning Word Play

  1. Heather says:

    I love it when the words settle down and behave, especially if they have resisted all my efforts to wrangle them – when they finally flow, oh, my. It is magic!

    Heather

    Like

  2. 1sojournal says:

    Well, they were blowing horns and knocking down the door this morning. Every once in a while I like that touch of the whimsical, as my mentor used to call it. This made me smile and feel up the entire time I was doing it. Just for fun, is one of the best reasons of all.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  3. The playfulness here put a smile on my face 🙂

    Like

  4. 1sojournal says:

    Thanks so much, Farah. And glad you enjoyed, I did as well.

    Elizabeth

    Like

Leave a Reply

