In a Blink

Writer’s Island prompt #14 – “Just Around The Corner”

Just around the corner in my mind,
I am fifteen, he is thirty-two, thinks
to teach me how to be a woman
and, for a while, I thought to let him.

Never turned that particular corner,
blink of an eye passed by to learn
that a woman has power in other
places, power to shape, create
a world of her own, other passions
with which to hone a self, not reliant
on anyone else’s idea of what
she was born to be,
ought to be,
should be.

Now, nearly twice as old as he
was then, am content to be
just what I am,  a woman alone,
creating a world, a home
of words as solid as brick,
twice as thick with meaning
as that one he imagined,
would have fashioned, then
forced me to fit into. A world
in which I would have been
no more than a diversion
from his life with a wife
and several children.

He found another to play
that role, then died younger
than most. And I, with another
blink of an eye, spend my time
looking toward future corners
for myself and my daughters,
yet to be turned and all that
is still to be learned
about being a woman.

Elizabeth Crawford 1/9/09

About 1sojournal

Loves words and language. Dances on paper to her own inner music. Loves to share and keeps several blogs to facilitate that. They can be found here: http://1sojournal.wordpress.com/ https://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/ http://claudetteellinger.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in In a Blink and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to In a Blink

  1. ‘Just around the corner in my mind’ is a wonderful image. A great way to start this piece about an independent woman with a flash back. Then later with another blink of an eye, she spends her time looking forward to future corners. Cool stuff!

    Like

  2. 1sojournal says:

    That first line started whispering in my ear the minute I read the prompt, so had to stop and investigate. Pllayed with the flashback for a while and then, with the momentary help of a friend, the rest of it fell into place. I love it when that happens. Thanks so much for stopping by and leaving your kind words.

    Elizabeth

    Like

Leave a Reply

