Half Way

NaPoWriMo 2019 – Day 15

Marananthaheth

Szooo, little one, you are half way through
your journey of making poemz?

Yes, have to laugh at how
frightened I was
to begin.

But, you have done thisz szo many timez.
I am, how you zsay? Szurprized by your fear.

Well, it has to do with
being away from
the actual writing
of poetry for so long.

But, little one, you have been uszing  your
time, making a book of poemz, No?

Yes, but the poems are already
written. Putting them in place,
deciding what to use, or leave out,
making sure they make sense
to the whole, rewriting when necessary,
takes a different type of skill,
a different eye, sort of speak.

You have more than two eyez? May I zee thisz
other eye of which you szpeak?

No. I have only the normal two.
What I meant by a different eye
is a figure of speech.

And iz thisz figure comely? Attractive? Does
he or szhe make you feel good?

Oh boy… A figure of speech is simply
a different way of saying a thing.  A different eye
speaks to the need for looking at something
differently, not in the usual way,
or using a different set of skills
than one normally would.

Okay, little one. What iz thiszs different zet of szkills
you uze for making thiz book?

Well, I guess you could say they are
more editorial in nature. The placement
of each piece, the progression and shaping
of the whole, with a hope that it will
be satisfying to the reader, and that he
or she will take something of worth
away from the reading.

But, little one, are thoze not the same thingsz you wizsh
to accomplizsh, when you write poemz? The placzement
of each word, the progreszion of thought, and the hope for
zatiszfaction and underztanding by the reader?

Yes, but…

I think you might have been afraid of zomehow loszing
your skill of making poemz. Szomething you have been doing
for many, many yearz, yessz?

Close to forty years, yes. And not so
much of losing the ability, but that
my skills might have grown rusty
from lack of use.

You are human, yeszz? And therefore no part of you
can become ruszt.

Another figure of speech, I’m afraid.
Fear that by not using those skills,
they are no longer quite as sharp, or
as viable as they were.

Have you found that to be true?

No. The first pieces seemed a bit stiff
but after two weeks I seem to be getting
back into the swing of it.

Another figure of szpeech? And how, might I aszk, doesz
one acquire this figure?

UHMMMMMMMMM, by writing
a lot of poetry?

Elizabeth Crawford 4/15/2019

Process Notes: Half-way through NaPo and thinking I needed some Heth, to help me breathe a bit. Humor relaxes whatever muscles have been stretched. And Heth never fails me on that level.

 

 

About 1sojournal

Loves words and language. Dances on paper to her own inner music. Loves to share and keeps several blogs to facilitate that. They can be found here: https://1sojournal.wordpress.com/ https://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/ http://claudetteellinger.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in half way and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Half Way

  1. Marianne says:

    I love the back & forth in this piece. And the humor in this exchange! I must say I feel like I’m getting back “into the swing,” too. It’s still not easy for me to write. I think perfectionists have a harder time being creative. It tends to hold them (me) back. Seeking perfection is never the way to go. Getting words down, starting a sculpture or a painting, is crucial. The important part is to begin, again and again if necessary, until it feels comfortable. Thanks, Elizabeth!

    Thank you, Marianne. I think that the one and major fear of the perfectionist is to not appear foolish. Too late. To borrow my own words, “to fear looking foolish is to never begin at all”. It’s an old fear that knows it can stop us in our tracks, worse, it stops growth and the ability to become whatever we are becoming. I gave it up long ago, or I’d never have written all the dragon poems to be found on this site. And strangely enough, those seem to be some of the most favored pieces, I have created. So much so, that I’ve considered actually holding an online class about finding ones own dragon/s. Now that might be a hell of a class, just for the humor it might generate. Or chaos, perhaps, lol. Thank you so much for being a part of my present journey.

    Elizabeth

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ecwrytes says:

    I loved the way its written to create the inside dragon in your head, and I like your spin on humor!

    Thank you, Ec. Heth is the fierce dragon of my imagination. She’s been with me for decades and we often find laughter together. If you’d like to know more, just put the word “dragon” in the search engine on this site. I also did a chat on Poets United about the dragons of my acquaintance. You can find that in the subjects mentioned at the bottom of my blog banner. It explains how I came to know and understand them. Again, thank you for visiting and leaving your response.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  3. Loved the poem. Heth makes me smile, with that wonderful lisp. The wonderful thing about poetry is, we can be away from it for a time, and wonder if we will ever write another poem, but when we are ready, the words are right there waiting for us. My words definitely dont flow as they once did, as my fatigue affects even the energy available for poetry. But at this point., I am very happy to be writing anything!

    And may I remind you dear Sherry, that we are our own worse critics. I really liked your bus driver poet. I used to ride the bus, a lot, and it was always a time of dreaming and loaded memories. You brought that back to me. Thank you. You may be tired, but your poetry is not.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  4. annell4 says:

    Well said!!! It is so true, since we have no idea where the poems come from, each is a miracle!! And we never know if another will come our way.

    “What is genius but the power of expressing a new individuality?” Elizabeth Barrett Browning
    Read more at: https://www.brainyquote.com/quotes/elizabeth_barrett_brownin_383237

    And this you have done my little Elizabeth!

    Lol, and thank you, Mizzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz Annell

    Elizsabeth

    Like

  5. Pamela says:

    I love Heth and the inspiration from this writing, Elizabeth.

    Love,
    Pamela

    Thank you, Pamela. I love her too. She is always there when I need her most, a deep well of inspiration and delight. I truly wish that others would seek out and befriend the dragons who dwell in our midst.

    Love and hugs from the hillbilly,
    Elizabeth

    Like

  6. neil reid says:

    is that dragon smiling? I think so. an amusing conversation (with yourself). and I do like the dragon. I have my own debates of sorts. memory getting more thin. what’s that do to free associations? fuzzy, but so what. write, don’t write. long-short, I’m glad you’re around!

    As I am just as glad to be back in contact with you. And yes, the dragon is smiling. But, she can also be incredibly, fiercely, protective when that is necessary. She is only one aspect of a very well defined Personal Mythology I created many years ago. And, she often comes to help me through the month of April. I am always grateful for her assistance. Thanks for the visit my friend, and by the way, I find that writing is one of the very best tools for keeping memory strong and clear.

    Elizabeth

    Like

Leave a comment