Awakening of Clarity and Understanding

For 1sojournal NaPoWriMo Poetry Prompt #19: Day 19
http://1sojournal.wordpress.com/

perception, years, door, dream, leave,
remain,ghost, never, find, whisper

3

Awakening of Clarity and Understanding

When I was a child I caught a fleeting glimpse
Out of the corner of my eye
I turned to look but it was gone,
I cannot put my finger on it now
The child is grown, the dream is gone

Lyrics from Uncomfortably Numb
__
by Roger Waters and David Gilmour

Childhood perceptions are often
only partial at best. Due to lack
of complete understanding, trauma
can remain in subconscious
for years. Ghostly whispers
haunting dreams, causing ‘night
terrors’, finding wrong where it
was never intended.

Know from own experience,
that logical adult can correct
such misconceptions, realign
terror induced memories without
need for drug abuse numbness
or drowning in ‘happy pill’ substitutions.
Leaving them all behind, finally
opening door to healthy future, no
longer impeded by childhood fear.

Elizabeth Crawford 4/19/14

Notes: When I first heard Pink Floyd’s Comfortably Numb, I tuned it out as my teen-aged son’s need to listen to ‘his’ kind of music. A few years later, when I finally really listened to it, I fully understood and related to this verse. Drug abuse was not a solution, and I had a negative reaction to the ‘happy pills’ which were prescribed. I had long been interested in Dream Work, later even teaching some classes in the techniques I had developed. Especially the one that allowed me to be free of a periodic repetitive nightmare that had haunted me since childhood, through teen years, and into mid-life. All caused by childhood trauma. The image is of a sunrise over Lake Michigan, taken by a friend. It always makes me think of “awakening” in the truest sense of that word, as does the song, ironically.

About 1sojournal

Loves words and language. Dances on paper to her own inner music. Loves to share and keeps several blogs to facilitate that. They can be found here: http://1sojournal.wordpress.com/ https://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/ http://claudetteellinger.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Awakening of Clarity and Understanding and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Awakening of Clarity and Understanding

  1. Oh that title “comfortably numb” says so much………glad the nightmares finally were routed, my friend……….that is a beautiful sunrise!

    Like

  2. Pamela says:

    An empowering poem, Elizabeth. I never thought of that song as being about drugs, funny. I only have heard stories about Roger Waters’ mental stability being compromised.

    Love,
    Pamela ox

    Like

Leave a Reply

