Once Again

For The Sunday Whirl Poetry Prompt: Wordle #91
http://sundaywhirl.wordpress.com/

wordle 91

Once Again: Trying To Talk Myself
Out of Something I’m Already Into

Okay, so here we are
in our own little room,
dark  hermit’s cave,
(our present day palace).

Neither of us drunk or drugged,
yet both still bearing burden
of long ago commitment we made
when we were young and foolish.

Yup, back to saving grace,
or at least trying to find
virtue in this place we sometimes
misnomer as  poetry.

Could give ourselves bends
trying to rise or descend curving
staircase of steps where we’ve already been
too many times to remember.

Or maybe just ditch
this diminishing wish
for some sort of happy
or wholesome ending?

While both of us know,
if given such breaks,
we have not, nor would we,
take them.

Elizabeth Crawford  1/13/2013

About 1sojournal

Loves words and language. Dances on paper to her own inner music. Loves to share and keeps several blogs to facilitate that. They can be found here: http://1sojournal.wordpress.com/ https://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/ http://claudetteellinger.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Once Again and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Once Again

  1. vivinfrance says:

    I admire how you’ve achieved this – firstly for the wonderful wordling but also for the skill evident in the layout. Even using Windows Live Write I still have problems achieving my original layout on the blog.. Bravo

    Oh Viv, I think I might start blushing. I’m trying to think how to tell you how to do this, because it isn’t as difficult as you think. I’m not a wizard or anything of the kind. It’s simple word processing, I think. Writing down instructions has never been my long suit, but I’ll try and let you know if I succeed. Thank you much,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  2. Stan Ski says:

    Nothing like making a commitment, is there…?

    Maybe more like rehashing a commitment that seems a bit too costly, at times? Thanks Stan,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  3. Laurie Kolp says:

    Or maybe just ditch
    this diminishing wish

    Reminds me of a 4-yr. situation/relationship I was in in college where we finally had to sit face to face and agree it was over (amicably).

    Therein lies some of the difficulty, Laurie. No means of having that face to face. Thanks for reading,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  4. anl4 says:

    I like what you have done this time. And why would we? If we are already in it….let’s follow it where ever it takes us. Since Einstein says, it is all one, past, present, and future, the commitment we made long ago, it still our commitment today. You said, we are the only one, we will ever know. What a journey into the unknown! Thank you Elizabeth.

    And thank you Annell, for posing these thoughts and questions. You are right, the journey always continues,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  5. anl4 says:

    More…Who said you can’t? Who said you weren’t good enought?

    I’ve always said, when we allow another to speak (about our work) they simply tell us what they do not know. Yes, we have to build that strength within, know who we are, be willing to trust, and never give our power away. When we are rejected, we know, the other person doesn’t get it…and therefore it is not for them, and really has nothing to do with us, our work, or what we are saying.

    Annell, I started smiling when I saw your name pop up again. This is, yet isn’t about my work. It is far more about the person I choose to be, which of course definitely affects whatever work I do. Lots of circles, but I appreciate your thoughts, far more than you know,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  6. margo roby says:

    I’m with ViV. I realised as I read the poem that part of my brain was muttering about the layout. How, Elizabeth, how?
    I appreciate poems that can be read a number of ways because of layout and this delighted me. Clever, clever use of ‘bends’.

    margo

    Not quite sure how to respond, Margo. If you are speaking about the layout, I’ll add your name right after Viv’s, to my attempt to give instructions. This is yet another dialogue poem between me and myself, so all I can say about the process is to lean in and listen, then write and revise until it comes clear. It does get easier with practice, lol. I promise. I get Brenda’s list on Friday evening and write it down, letting each word echo a bit. When I got to ‘bends’, I saw a deep sea diver rising, or descending, into the deep and began to think in terms of a dialogue poem. The diver has to pause often so that the bends don’t occur. We must pause often in order to clearly hear what we ourselves are saying. Never thought to use the word in any other fashion,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  7. drpkp says:

    Lovely on so many levels – of content and of course as all have mentioned the form is impressive:)

    Thank you, pkp. I’ve been reading my morning pages from twenty years ago (and writing about that on my site, here http://1sojournal.wordpress.com/). It is amazing to me, to hear the voice of that woman I was back there, first learning how to truly lean and listen to what she had to say, which in a very real sense, turns it into a three-way conversation. Margo and I had a brief exchange about dialogue poems just this past week. I’ve done them before, so the form was fresh in my thoughts.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  8. brenda w says:

    Yes! Judging by my feelings and the comments you’ve nailed a universal here, Elizabeth. This wooed that part of me whose been there into a deep read. Love this piece. Thank you.

    Brenda, the words helped a great deal in choosing the direction and form the piece took. I had tried something else, but couldn’t take it any further than the first stanza, which will probably end up in some future poem. That’s when I remembered the dialogue poems and from there it all fell into place. So glad you enjoyed, but you must take a bow as well for supplying the words that got me where I needed to go. Thanks so much for all of your efforts,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  9. julespaige says:

    Yup. What Brenda W said. Plus …well it also reminds me of sorting parental relationships. Either with our own parents or with our children. A few years back via phone as face to face just wasn’t possible I did that trundling up and down the spiral staircase of emotions. But at this point when asked would you do that again…live life as it was, change anything . Not if it alters where I am now. I’m more than less happy. Thanks for this wonderful expression of words.

    Thanks too for your visit and continued support.

    And I thank you for yours. I have spent a lot of time on that spiral staircase that wends its way between heart and mind. And trundle is an excellent word choice for describing that particular activity. At my age, I find that the desire for change is far stronger than the willingness to implement it.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  10. Sherry Marr says:

    “yet both still bearing burden”………very intriguing write, Elizabeth. I love the way this poem looks upon the page – and the back and forth conversation.

    Thank you, my friend. Any burden is halved when it is carried by two instead of one. Learning to listen to ones own voice makes it possible to share the burden and lighten the load.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  11. A real story – the wordle words concealed – Lovely!

    Real is good. Thank you much for reading and commenting. So glad you enjoyed Marian,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  12. Mama Zen says:

    Outstanding work with the words! Wow!

    I really like Wow. Thanks Mama,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  13. Mr. Walker says:

    Elizabeth, you have captured this so well – in both form and content – that flow back and forth between wishful thinking and reality – the ability to wonder – perhaps wander – and come back down that “curving / staircase” one more time.

    Richard

    Richard, am still thinking about ‘ditch poetry’ and all that it could be and mean. Coming back down that curving staircase is the best reason in the world for learning how to lean in and listen to ones own thoughts. It’s a lot like throwing out a trolling anchor. Thanks so much for stopping in,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  14. Janet says:

    The form and words draws one in, the wordle part completely forgotten. Great work!

    Thank you Janet, so glad you enjoyed it. Am still seeing that beautiful photo you shared,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  15. Misky says:

    This is so clever on multiple levels. Elizabeth, well done for a brilliant write.

    Clever and brilliant in the same comment? The old woman is gonna trip on that curving staircase yet. Thank you Misky, I really liked your piece on vertigo,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  16. Irene says:

    I’m reminded of novels..how the protagonist often develops into sadder characters once they have to bear long term commitment. And then the writing that comes afterwards.

    Does that mean you think I should stop writing poetry and turn myself toward fiction? It won’t work. No real endurence. If it must continue for more than two pages, I fall off the edge of the world and disappear into blue vapor. Doesn’t bode well for long term commitment, at least the one on paper. And you just made me see this piece in a whole different light. Thanks Irene,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  17. tmhHoover says:

    The unfolding of our thoughts , almost a mystery. You nailed the conversation. Eluding to things I hardly admit I love this piece Elizabeth. It helps me breath a bit easier somehow. I want to hug you for sharing it- 🙂

    Thanks Terry, mutual hugs are really good things.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  18. seingraham says:

    Very clever – both use of words and layout (I’m another in awe of and might put myself on your tutoring list …!) Am especially impressed with your use of the word bends … it is where I wanted to go also but my muse was singularly uncooperative … cool poem. Truly.

    http://thepoet-tree-house.blogspot.ca/2013/01/line-breaks.html

    Thank you, seingraham. Tutoring List? I haven’t even had time to think if I actually know how to tell anyone how I did it, lol. Hopefully, I’ll have some time tomorrow. She crosses her fingers, toes, and whatever else is appropriate. I’m very glad you enjoyed it and appreciate the comments,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  19. I got the internal dialogue right away, and your subject matter, which calls to mind the very heart of every relationship, especially marriage/partnership, is good stuff. I also agree, the layout is interesting… my guess is that, in WordPress, you may be able to select certain stanzas and right-justify, while using centering for others. Bill!!! And thanks for stopping by and giving me such nice feedback. Glad your daughter enjoyed my cousin’s music, too! Amy
    http://sharplittlepencil.com/2013/01/13/the-journey-trifecta/

    Hi Amy, glad you enjoyed and yes you do have some of the laying out form correct. I’m just trying to get it all down in my own head so I can write it out,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  20. Robyn says:

    Love the back and forth here and the knowing that neither would take/want the break.

    Robyn, I agree, even think this might be more a bolstering up of that inner bond and agreement.
    Thanks for stopping in,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  21. Pamela says:

    I love this for two reasons, the inner dialogue and how well the format lends to it, Elizabeth. Beautifully done.

    Pamela

    Thank you, my friend, but me thinks it could use a bit more lemon?

    Elizabeth

    Like

  22. barbara_y says:

    Oh, yes. The do-over hypothesis. The fact that I always reach the same conclusion you do here never stops me from working my way through the honeymoon stages of schools I could have gone to, careers, cities, men, publication, diet. Endless rue, endless rue.

    I like your form choice. Need to try that.

    Barbara, I really like that ‘the honeymoon stages’ and need to remember it the next time I do this little dance and mental gyration. Thank you,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  23. barbara_y says:

    When you tell them about the formatting: this is one of the few things that are best done in the visual editor, and probably best left for last.

    Sorry Barbara, had to laugh when I saw what you had written. I told them to make sure they keep it in the text editor and then stick with very basic word processing. When I tried it in ‘visual'(a different earlier poem), it threw the whole thing all over the place several times until I just deleted it all.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  24. Nicely achieved Elizabeth! The formatting disappears as it draws you to the next stanza unimpeded. But it lends a visual “rhythm” to this wonderful piece.

    Thank you Walt. I like that aspect as well and want to do more of it. Movement is good.

    Elizabeth

    Like

Leave a Reply

