Leaving Normal

 

For NaPoWriMo day 2

Leaving Normal

Takes little with her except
knapsack of knowing. Paper,
pen with which to make note
through moments of butterfly
meanderings.

Travels past fields of grain
waving her on under sun
she follows west, toward
unknown future. Footsteps
her only companion.

As shadows lengthen, knows
need to find shelter, a place
of rest, some small nest in which
to burrow, curl and sleep in order
to keep going, tomorrow.

Elizabeth Crawford  4/2/11

*Soul Cards created by Deborah Koff-Chapin. Click on image to see both galleries, or go to http://www.touchdrawing.com/

About 1sojournal

Loves words and language. Dances on paper to her own inner music. Loves to share and keeps several blogs to facilitate that. They can be found here: https://1sojournal.wordpress.com/ https://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/ http://claudetteellinger.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Leaving Normal and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Leaving Normal

  1. vivinfrance says:

    Butterfly meanderings = lovely

    Thanks Viv, I like that one myself.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  2. The story of life beautifully told.

    Anthony, thanks for stopping in. A life, many lives, we are not all that different,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  3. Life as it is, for some – excellent post.

    Thanks Stan, yes, for some staying home is enough of an adventure.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  4. Tilly Bud says:

    This is just lovely.

    Tilly Bud, glad you enjoyed it,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  5. A nice start. I like each word and each image you have created! Beautifully done!

    Thank you Annell, and I like the break you created with your post.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  6. Ron. says:

    Good one, E. I like that you kept her on the road, didn’t plunk her down in some “destination.”

    Thanks Ron. I couldn’t plunk her down, neither one of us knows if there is a destination.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  7. brenda w says:

    Elizabeth, This is a wonderful journey of a poet into April. It made me feel good to read it. Your work offers warmth. Thank you. ~Brenda

    I’m glad to hear you say that Brenda. With snow still all around, warmth is good. Thanks,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  8. pamela says:

    Elizabeth, I agree with Brenda, your work does offer warmth, wonderful post.

    Pamela

    Thank you my friend, I almost got stuck, glad I didn’t.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  9. So beautiful……….the journey into the unknown, and ready for adventure!

    Ahh Sherry, don’t know that I’m ready, just know it has begun. Thank you sister,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  10. Laurie Kolp says:

    Such a beautiful piece… I love “knapsack of knowing”…

    Lol, Laurie, that’s all I had for a while, the poem wouldn’t go any further. We did combat for a while. Thanks for stopping and commenting,

    Elizabeth

    Like

Leave a comment