Evening of the 4th

For The Sunday Whirl poetry prompt: Wordle #116
http://sundaywhirl.wordpress.com/

wordle #116

DSCN4038a

Evening of The 4th

Impossible to resist voices
ordering up invitation to barbeque
and bonfire. Grilled hamburgers and brats,
baked beans and homemade potato salad.
Dessert was rhubarb and strawberry torte
on oatmeal crumble crust.

Margarita in hand, sat back in lawn chair
listening for whispery hiss and pop of dried leaves,
twigs, and branches risked to swift fingers
of flame reaching with greed to feed
insatiable hunger.  Crackle of sparks
leaping to climb invisible night air ladder,
blown by combustible pressure of small
inferno beneath them.

Scent of wood smoke permeating clothing,
lingering into next morning, when brushing
against shirt while inhaling deeply, mellow
moments wrap me in warmth once again.

Elizabeth Crawford  7/7/13

notes: Went to my sister’s for the 4th. Took photos of the fire and played with them on the kaleidoscope app. Made a gallery of the results here:  http://claudetteellinger.wordpress.com/2013/07/06/bonfire-designs/

The mellow feeling still lingers.

About 1sojournal

Loves words and language. Dances on paper to her own inner music. Loves to share and keeps several blogs to facilitate that. They can be found here: https://1sojournal.wordpress.com/ https://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/ http://claudetteellinger.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Evening of The 4th and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Evening of the 4th

  1. brenda w says:

    Thank you for sharing your bonfire, Elizabeth. That’s my kind of fireworks, climbing “the invisible night air ladder.” Beautiful. Dessert got me drooling, too,

    Like

  2. Stan Ski says:

    Happy 4th of July!

    Like

  3. Irene says:

    Yea, that invisible night air ladder does get one mellow. Thanks for a 4th of July poem. 🙂

    Like

  4. One more app to have to get! The pictures look like something to gaze at while meditating! Love how the smell of wood smoke gets caught in clothes and takes one back to the warm, coziness of the night before!

    Like

  5. oldegg says:

    How well you encapsulate that barbeque in your words. As I read it aloud my mind was full of the smell, sights and sounds of such an evening.

    Like

  6. Misky says:

    I just smelled wood smoke! If the fire alarm had gone off, I’d not have been surprised in the least.

    Like

  7. Agree with the above. It was like being theere. I swear I smell wood smoke!

    Like

  8. Sherry Marr says:

    Nothing like a margarita by a crackling fire. I have never had one, but experienced it just now through your words!

    Like

  9. Maggie Grace says:

    Sounds like lovely family time.

    Like

  10. WabiSabi says:

    This brought me back to some long ago 4th of July barbeques. Thanks for the ride !Impossible

    Like

  11. Pamela says:

    An absolute treat this poem, Elizabeth. I felt as if I were right in the scene.

    Pamela

    Like

  12. Veronica Roth says:

    That must have been a lovely 4th Elizabeth, because you wrote about it so beautifully. I could smell the wood smoke. Don’t you love that? I do. 🙂

    Like

  13. Well expressed and nice photo, Elizabeth

    Like

  14. Cathy says:

    Great poem with excellent images, especially the fire part. Which in turn lead to those wonderful kaleidoscope.

    Like

  15. Can I come? I’ll bring wine…

    Like

  16. julespaige says:

    Soon off to look at your photos. I had a mellow 4th. No flames. We just took MIL out to dinner.
    I think I want to get lost in that dream haze that you have created. Nicely wordled.

    Like

  17. ms pie says:

    nothing like a sensory sensation to wake up one from the ho hum of everyday livin….

    Like

Leave a comment