Tree Time

For We Write Poems: Time Counts
http://wewritepoems.wordpress.com/

Tree Time

Bleak barren branches reach
upward, like children’s hands
eager to capture snowflakes,

which become spring green buds
curled tightly, waiting to unfurl

into leaves of all shades from
elm to maple to willow, rustling
in summer sunlight,

then wither to yellow, grow stiff,
fall to autumn’s fire and are covered

by winter’s whiteness that piles
itself in crooks of bleak
barren branches.

Elizabeth Crawford  12/5/12

About 1sojournal

Loves words and language. Dances on paper to her own inner music. Loves to share and keeps several blogs to facilitate that. They can be found here: https://1sojournal.wordpress.com/ https://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/ http://claudetteellinger.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Tree Time and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Tree Time

  1. Irene says:

    A very visual quality to your poem, Elizabeth, full of seasonal breath too.

    Thank you Irene, I was certainly working toward both of those things. Really liked your poem,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  2. vivinfrance says:

    Just lovely – I pictured the sequence in my head.

    So did I, Viv, lol. It was easy, I watched a time sequence series of photos yesterday on the Internet. Set this all in motion. Thanks for stopping in and hope you are well,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  3. Sherry Marr says:

    Me too, was lovely to watch the cycle of tree time:)

    Oh Sherry, winter is here and I am never ready for that. Thanks my friend,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  4. Beautiful intro “Bleak barren branches reach
    upward, like children’s hands
    eager to capture snowflakes,”

    What a swift and poetic voyage through the seasons!

    Welcome, and thank you for your generous words,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  5. brebry says:

    A truly poetic description of a passing year.

    Thank you brebry, glad you enjoyed,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  6. anl4 says:

    Just one of your best! I love the play of words and what you say…bleak, barren, branches….love, love, love it! While I think there can be no other, that will be better, you will surprise me always!

    I hope so my friend, and thanks so much,

    Elizabeth

    Like

Leave a comment