The Egret

NaPoWriMo 2020: Day 15

Nowadays I move
as slow as an egret
stalking her dinner
in almost still waters.

Slow moving steps
carefully taken
one at a time, always
seeking balance.

Forever aware
that I am only
a tiny speck
in this whirling landscape.

Following fleeting reflections
in my mind,
no more than furtive wish
to find a poem

that will satisfy.

Elizabeth Crawford 4/15/2020

Notes: Image is a photograph I took in a nearby park, a favorite place since childhood. Back then I wasn’t really aware of the plethora of wild life around me. That came much later along with a methodical study of their singular mythologies, and a deep respect for their symbolism. Happy half-way Day to all NaPo writers…

About 1sojournal

Loves words and language. Dances on paper to her own inner music. Loves to share and keeps several blogs to facilitate that. They can be found here: https://1sojournal.wordpress.com/ https://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/ http://claudetteellinger.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in The Egret and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Egret

  1. Marianne says:

    A gorgeous photo. The egret’s reflection is so lovely! I grew up at a lake in the country. I remember herons, on long skinny legs, searching for their early dawn breakfasts. A beautiful sight! I think herons & egrets are similar. Good writing here, Elizabeth! I will now think of you moving with the same steady grace.

    Like

  2. Marianne says:

    Meant to add:
    On your quest to find the perfect poem…

    Lol, Marianne I’m not looking for the perfect poem. Just one that satisfies. Egrets and Herons are from the same family. They symbolize (because of that slow steady search on those long legs) “fierce self-determination”. Used to drive to a wetlands area about 45 minutes from home to watch the Herons that nested there in the spring. One time, with a friend, we watched in awe as the herons rose straight up from their nests, while the egrets descended to theirs. And about fifteen minutes later the reverse. They shared the same nesting grounds. It was like watching a slow motion, elegantly choreographed winged ballet. One, never to be forgotten because it was a gift. There is so much to be learned from the wildlife that surrounds us…

    Elizabeth

    Like

  3. Sherry Marr says:

    I LOVE your opening lines, moving slowly as an egret, stalking her dinner. And adore the photo too. Your poem made me feel better, reminding me that I am one speck in this dervish of a life……..I have been feeling weighted down. Thank you, my friend.

    Like

  4. Irene says:

    That furtive wish…yes! Nice one, Elizabeth.

    Like

  5. And a fine poem, you have found, Elizabeth. Happy half-way day, to, you.

    Love,
    Pamela

    Like

Leave a comment