Looking Back

Looking Back

Stepping Stones
Photograph
by
Elizabeth Crawford

Words used to be my friends.
Followed them eagerly
like stepping stones.

But left them behind
a while ago,
walked away, didn’t look back.

Sometimes they’d call out,
soft whispers, too easily
ignored.

Can’t explain, no rhyme
and certainly
no concrete reason.

For a while
tried chocolate
but that is only a taste.

Fleeting at best,
doesn’t last,
only begs for more.

So, here I am.
Back at this gate,
eyes downcast,

seeking forgiveness.

Elizabeth Crawford 4/1/2020

Notes: Poetry has always been both personal and damned good therapy, for me. Perhaps because my poetry has always been the Personal type.  And therapy doesn’t do much good
unless it is truth filled. April, besides being my birthday month, is also National Poetry Writing Month. I’ve always thought that was a rather nice coincidence. Then have to remind myself that there are no coincidences here. It’s either real or it’s not. Writing a poem a day for thirty days is a rather daunting concept, especially under my present circumstances. Please pray for me…

About 1sojournal

Loves words and language. Dances on paper to her own inner music. Loves to share and keeps several blogs to facilitate that. They can be found here: https://1sojournal.wordpress.com/ https://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/ http://claudetteellinger.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in looking back and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Looking Back

  1. Pamela says:

    Exquisite as always, Elizabeth. Happy NAPO!

    Love,
    Pammy

    Like

  2. Marianne says:

    This is wonderful. You’ve described what I feel when I’m away from writing for a long time. Your photo is beautiful and so perfect with this piece. Be safe, my friend.

    Like

  3. thotpurge says:

    Glad to read your poem, Elizabeth. Do take care and stay safe. A very happy birth month to you.

    Like

  4. Sherry Marr says:

    Elizabeth, it is wonderful to be reading you. I love how the words wait for us and are right there when we come back, ready to spill forth again. We two wild women will see what the Muse has to bring this month, shall we? I am looking forward to the journey. We have made so many together through the years.

    Like

  5. bwarren says:

    Strong work, my friend. I love this, and know our words forgive us. They are there when we are ready for them. Yours are shining through this piece, like bits of polished sea glass peering up from around your stepping stones.

    Like

Leave a comment