April PAD Challenge: Day 20

The Portal
Manipulated Photograph
by
Elizabeth Crawford

The Portal

Slip with ease
through portal of mind,
where secrets hide
yet, constantly
whisper.

Call me by name
from where they hang,
like paintings
on living room
walls.

Tell me of other
times and places
sketching faces
of both strangers
and friends.

Few were even enemies
wanting something
I couldn’t give, including
this space in which
I live.

Yet, all are gifts,
come to teach me
lessons I couldn’t
have learned without
their vivid presence.

So, I slip with ease
through this portal
of remembering, knowing
that each one has something
of value to offer.

Elizabeth Crawford  4/20/2017

Notes: Inspiration for today comes from the image above, an Autumn photograph put through the kaleidoscope app, which has always made me think of the magical, mystical opening of memory with all of its stories and lessons.

And that in turn reminds me of one of my favorite Paul Simon songs…

 

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

About 1sojournal

Loves words and language. Dances on paper to her own inner music. Loves to share and keeps several blogs to facilitate that. They can be found here: https://1sojournal.wordpress.com/ https://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/ http://claudetteellinger.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in April PAD Challenge: Day 20 and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to April PAD Challenge: Day 20

  1. Sherry Marr says:

    I resonate with this poem so much – those wanting what I couldnt give including this space in which I live……..our precious solitude. I agree, each brought lessons and learning. One might have wished for a less fraught education, but we paid our ticket and we took our chances. Smiles. Loved the little side trip to Africa too, my friend.

    Like

Leave a comment