The Gap Between Belief and Experience

For Sunday’s Whirligig: Wordle #27
http://sundayswhirligig.blogspot.com/

light, dark, gone, fragments, leaves, eye,
theft, erotic, dream, change, watch, clock

For The Sunday Whirl: Wordle #219
https://sundaywhirl.wordpress.com/

one, call, wind, share, nexus, left,
press, flush, threats, list, swear, tender

For Poets United: Poetry Pantry #272
http://poetryblogroll.blogspot.com/

penandink on canvasThe Gap Between Belief and Experience

Clock of age threatens the nexus between
light and darkness. Watching it slowly
change share of time until just fragments
remain, a capricious wind at twilight.

Tender moments press hard against past,
take on dream-like flush and are gone,
leaving behind a list of maybes that call
to the heart while ears and eyes grow dim.

Once heard that aging could be somewhat
erotic, filled with adventure and mystery.
Would swear that kind of belief is left only
to one who learned it young, and never forgot it.

Elizabeth Crawford 10/4/15

Notes: For whatever reason, the two word lists made me think of the aging process. Had no idea how that would work until the first line started humming in my head. The rest was a matter of following the words, letting them show me where they belonged. Have often thought that whoever coined the phrase “golden years” was at best only middle-aged and had yet to encounter the “degeneration” and increasing fragility involved in growing old.

Image is a very small pen and ink drawing done on canvas.

About 1sojournal

Loves words and language. Dances on paper to her own inner music. Loves to share and keeps several blogs to facilitate that. They can be found here: https://1sojournal.wordpress.com/ https://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/ http://claudetteellinger.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in The Gap Between Belief and Experience and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to The Gap Between Belief and Experience

  1. I agree, so many aspects of aging that is not pleasant. Very true, and impressive use of the wordle.

    Like

  2. thotpurge says:

    Leaving behind a list of maybes that call to the heart…. Beautifully written.

    Like

  3. Jae Rose says:

    There always seems to be a gap between belief and experience – maybe because it’s other peoples..i suppose like anything there are swings and roundabouts (as Alice might say though she hates being stuck at almost 8) – you can do things as and when you like when you are older but that can lose its novelty..golden years..childhood is the best time of your life..all these tropes..do they make us feel better or worse..maybe it’s best to just think about today – which is cold but bright and the baby pigeons are nibbling some crumbs in the car park outside…and amidst my ramble – another compact and thoughtful poem and as always wonderful accompanying illustration

    Like

  4. oldegg says:

    I very much admire your ability in using 24 prompt words while I struggle with 12 forcing theme to fit the writing I have in mind! Mind you even my eyes lit up up with aging could be erotic. I would surely stumble and fall over in the rush!

    Like

  5. Sumana Roy says:

    aging is painful, literally but experiences are golden…brilliantly wordled…wow…

    Like

  6. Misky says:

    A lovely poem filled with hopefulness.

    Like

  7. Sanaa Rizvi says:

    take on dream-like flush and are gone,
    leaving behind a list of maybes that call
    to the heart while ears and eyes grow dim.

    Such a beautifully thought provoking piece!! 🙂

    Like

  8. Mary says:

    I like Sumana’s comment…..aging is painful, but experiences are golden! I too admire how you use these wordle words. You are a master of them. And I do think eroticism can be found at any age…perhaps not in exactly the same way (and maybe thank goodness for that), but nonetheless I think we have to nurture it as well. A call to the heart remains forever possible…..smlles. You are such a good poet, Elizabeth. I wish you would consider coming over to the Midweek Motif on Wednesdays. I’d like once again to see what you can do with a theme..apart from word lists. I’ve mentioned this week’s theme in the Pantry write-up. And some of the same folks are there!

    Like

  9. humbird says:

    Excellent drawing! and I love your idea of ‘aging could be somewhat
    erotic,’ ~ why not?! ~ feels very cozy inside of your poem, just magical!

    Like

  10. Susan says:

    I like this especially:
    “leaving behind a list of maybes that call
    to the heart while ears and eyes grow dim.”

    Like

  11. a wry sigh here. capricious wind at twilight – and the entire gap/nexus: well done.

    Like

  12. Sherry Marr says:

    How I LOVE “a capricious wind at twilight” – exactly right, my friend. And I like the acknowledgment of the gap between belief and experience. You are so wise. A profound and poignant treatise on aging, my friend. Fragile, yes. That is how I am feeling today, queasy, and my leg giving out under me. Yoiks. But my spirit as determined as ever to Get Things Done.

    Like

  13. kanzensakura says:

    I may grow older but I refuse to grow up. My mother is 86, frail, fragile, but her spirit is strong and truly golden. It is inevitable, unless we die younger. Aging could be somewhat erotic (?) I have to add that question mark. As a 60+ woman, I am more driven than I was when younger and enjoy the erotic more. Probably I have grown into my sexuality and spiritual energy. I don’t know. Who can tell? Incredible use of the wordle and the being able to link to different venues just wows me. Excellent poem and masterful multi-linking! Capricious wind at twilight….yes, exactly!

    Like

  14. scotthastiepoet says:

    Such depth of understanding the essence of things here and how it is…- especially in the closing lines, which nail the truth:

    “Once heard that aging could be somewhat
    erotic, filled with adventure and mystery.
    Would swear that kind of belief is left only
    to one who learned it young, and never forgot it.”

    Great Elizabeth – good to be reading you again… With Best Wishes Scott http://www.scotthastie.com

    Like

  15. gillena says:

    Luv the ‘maybe’ truly who journeys without that ponder

    Have a beautiful Sunday

    Much love…

    Like

  16. I have often wondered who coined that phrase ‘golden years’…a perfect ending to this wonderful poem! Loved it…

    Like

  17. Jamztoma says:

    experience says a lot and belief is born from it.

    Like

  18. ZQ says:

    Wonderful !

    Like

  19. Aging…It can be tough. It is tough. Yes, I learned a lot when young…It does help me face autumn.

    Like

  20. akaushiva says:

    The experiences one gains with age, truly golden. But yes the ageing process itself painful. Loved how you used the prompts. Loved it!

    Sorry, but I couldn’t find your blog to return your visit. But, thank you for taking the time to respond here. Aging isn’t fun, but staying creative makes a huge difference in my book. The only difference, I believe.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  21. I have a friend more than twice my age and he seems to have far more fun than me with his world travelling, entertaining, rambling, and…perfect health! Perhaps he is the exception but I hope not!

    Check out my Whirligigle!

    Like

  22. glmeisner says:

    Muscle memory holds for a long time especially if we learned it young.

    Like

  23. You capture me with your words…sing my song…I liked it very much. There are words for things and for times, but it is best lived, find out for yourself, and don’t miss the little things.

    Like

  24. Myrna Rosa says:

    I find aging does have some gold to it, but the experience of growing pains – that I didn’t expect. I love your poem. Your use of words combined with your wisdom create something very special. It spoke to me deeply.

    Like

  25. Snakypoet (Rosemary Nissen-Wade) says:

    Ageing has its disadvantages for sure, yet your poem about it i(and them) is very beautiful.

    Like

  26. I reread your post, and it seemed new, I wondered had I read it before? Growing old, becoming old, it is a process…I want to think we are lucky to experience it, still learning.

    Like

  27. magicalmysticalteacher says:

    Many maybes call to my heart. I suspect it’s a common occurrence. Excellent write, Elizabeth.

    Like

  28. ms pie says:

    oh my goodness how lovely…. it is indeed so true…. and written as fluid as water… gentle brook saying so passing through

    Like

Leave a comment