Review at 68

For The Sunday Whirl poetry prompt: Wordle #194
http://sundaywhirl.wordpress.com/

revolution, new, resolve, sing, shelter, review,
design, shine, belief, dedicated, win, turn

And Poets United poetry prompt: Poetry Pantry#233
http://poetryblogroll.blogspot.com/

DSCN2560

Review at 68

I sing now, only on paper.
Used to open my mouth
make music that won
attention, turning the heads
of those who would listen.

This writing thing seems a rather new
revolution, a shiny design once thought
to be only momentary shelter, no more
than distraction, mayhap delusion.
Something to do while waiting
for life to resolve itself
into more permanent purpose,
perhaps even dedication.

Thirty years, I have danced along
this twisted wordy path, always believing
somewhere ahead I would find that brass
ring and grab it. Not allowing myself
to fully understand that writing itself
has always been the only, and ultimate,
destination.

Elizabeth Crawford 1/4/15

Notes: The New Year means making resolutions for most people. Many years ago, I made a resolution not to do that traditional thing, because eight or nine times out of ten, I’d fail to follow through and start the year off not liking myself very much. Instead, I use the first days of the year to quietly review the past year, allowing myself to see the changes and accomplishments garnered during that time. However, this year, just as the old was being rung out and the new was squalling its entrance, I was given a gift in the form of a new friend who has lifted my spirits and brought a wealth of inspiration with him.

Some of you are aware that my oldest daughter has been here, almost daily to help me with running errands and cooking and cleaning. Just over two months ago she was diagnosed with a progressive form of MS and is now in a Nursing Home doing physical therapy and is unable to walk without the aid of a leg brace and walker. This has meant drastic changes for both of us. John helped me a great deal by reminding me of who and what I truly am and bringing the light of new awareness. Thank you.

About 1sojournal

Loves words and language. Dances on paper to her own inner music. Loves to share and keeps several blogs to facilitate that. They can be found here: http://1sojournal.wordpress.com/ https://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/ http://claudetteellinger.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Review At 68 and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Review at 68

  1. I’m sorry for the difficult disruption that has blighted your daughter’s and your lives, and hope that help is at hand.
    love,
    ViVx

    Like

  2. oldegg says:

    How right you are, writing is the the accomplishment not the vehicle. It is a voice both singing and protesting saying, “I am here, this is me”. Never think of the trials that confront you as defeats but as challenges to achieve.

    Like

  3. jae rose says:

    What a beautiful poem – everything that writing should be..i love the idea of realising that whilst ‘you’ feel you are waiting the writing becomes the voice..the brass ring..the journey and a way of working out and singing the answers inside…i wish you and your daughter a settled new year throughout the challenges..and i am so pleased John came into your lives..we all need some light every now and again..shiny back to you xo

    Like

  4. annell4 says:

    Dearest Elizabeth Yes, it always happens to me. I think of a resolution, and it is forgotten before I begin. Yes, you have a wonderful new beginning!!! The year is your’s!

    Like

  5. I am not one for resolutions either but I do like to choose a theme word for the coming year. Last year I chose reach and this year it is become.

    Like

  6. Misky says:

    My thoughts are with you and your daughter. sending you strength and peace.

    Like

  7. I am glad you have a new friend to help you.It is always wonderful when they shed light into the darkness of life’s trials. It is my prayer that God will grant both you and your daughter joy, blessings, and peace in this new year.

    Like

  8. Oh so sorry to hear about your daughter.. but you friend is also important.. I think having the writing is a great help.. but also writing is something in itself.. something I have realized myself just recently.

    Like

  9. Words are my constant companions. you and your daughter are in my thoughts. Bless you both.

    Like

  10. Elizabeth! I did not know such a thing had befallen your daughter, and yourself. I am glad a new friend brings brightness in the midst of such challenges. I love that you wrote writing is itself the ultimate destination. Yes. So it has also been for me.

    Like

  11. Mary says:

    Elizabeth, I do agree with you that writing is its own destination. Many people strive to be able to grab the brass ring and have their words enlighten thousands, but for the most part it does not happen. Words, I think, are satisfying in themselves & for themselves. Sorry to hear about your daughter’s diagnosis, but it is good that you have a new and helpful friend to brighten your new year.

    Like

  12. Writing can be a constant among life’s unplanned detours. Glad you have a friend to lighten your trials. Best wishes to you & your daughter.

    Like

  13. C.C. says:

    This is such an insightful review…and I love that you do a review instead of a resolution….I may have to adopt this approach as it seems so much more valuable! Thinking of you and your family as you adjust to all the new challenges and may you continue to find joy and support in the help of new friends.

    Like

  14. So sorry to hear about Sara. Give her and yourself my best wishes.

    Like

  15. I am sorry to hear about your daughter. So nice to find a friend to share with. I love your writing, so keep going.

    Like

  16. DELL CLOVER says:

    Oh, I’m so sorry for your struggles, and will keep you both in my prayers. Lovely writing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

