Poetic Distractions

For The Sunday Whirl: Wordle #66
http://sundaywhirl.wordpress.com/

Poetic Distractions

Stray exotic word
arouses erotic fantasy
of half-clad dancers,
as it swings, flinging
itself in exposing poses
across pale widening stage
of once blank sheet of paper.

Lightly spraying powdered rosy
hue to cover melancholy
of aloneness hidden in tall
golden grasses of an ever
wandering imagination.

Elizabeth Crawford 7/22/12

Notes: Blame it on watching all the trailers for Magic Mike, as I tried to get a better glimpse of that impish blue-eyed grin of Matthew McConaughey.  And if you believe that one, I have a bridge for sale, high in the mountains of Montana.

About 1sojournal

Loves words and language. Dances on paper to her own inner music. Loves to share and keeps several blogs to facilitate that. They can be found here: https://1sojournal.wordpress.com/ https://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/ http://claudetteellinger.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Poetic Distractions and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Poetic Distractions

  1. vivinfrance says:

    Brilliant, and why should fantasising about such a hunk be unbelievable? I loved the wordplay in this.

    Thank you Viv, but speaking of wordplay, I thought your wordle was silky and scented, wise and wonderful. It wasn’t the believability of the fantasizing I was speaking to. It was the idea that any breathing female would waste time seeking a glimpse of a sexy grin, when the real feast was mostly below the chin. He ain’t smiling in the pic, but he certainly gets ones attention. This one was fun,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  2. Marianne says:

    Loved where the words took you this week. I automatically assumed “half-clad dancers” referred to women. And then I read your process notes! Quite a distraction! 🙂

    Lol, and thank you Marianne. It was planned that way. As soon as I found that opening line, I knew where it was going. Figure that one movie will fuel a lot of feminine fantasies for possibly years to come.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  3. Irene says:

    Well he sure looks a hunk, fanning the grasses of a wandering imagination.

    Whew! Yours or mine, Irene? Secret? When I got the words, friday evening, that first word, ‘erotic’, blocked me for several hours. I find that if I start with the hardest words on the list, the rest seem to fall into place and this one did. Got to the erotic fantasy and half-clad dancers and knew exactly where it was going, poem and notes and photo, lol. And the wandering imagination is an avoidance technique of long standing. I do love poetry, but even after all these years, I still retain a strong vein of resistance. Used to drive me crazy, but I find that it somehow gives me an edge and I like that.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  4. LOL…Loved the playfulness in this. We can all dream. Great wordle… How much is the bridge ??? LOL

    Glad you enjoyed, Daydreamer. Imagination is a wonderful thing, and I find it is often based in playfulness. The bridge is another story or reality. Depends on whether or not its value is concrete, psychological, emotional, or simply a con game, don’t you think? I believe bridges are most often ‘in-between’ places. And many of those ‘in-between’ places often end up being priceless, lol,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  5. anl4 says:

    Delightful! Have to see this one!

    Thanks Annell. After going in search of the image and finding too many to take in, I’m no longer sure I want to see the movie. Maybe my imagination is rooting for that extra bit of freedom known as all of the possibilities. Overload is a definite one of those, lol.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  6. Laurie Kolp says:

    He smiles?

    http://lkharris-kolp.blogspot.com/2012/07/blanched.html

    Laurie, your sparce response had me laughing out loud. Until I saw the trailers for the movie, I was pretty sure that all he ever did was smile. What an awakening this has been, yes?

    Elizabeth

    Like

  7. brenda w says:

    Are you sure it was the stage that was widening? LoL This is fun, Elizabeth. Thank you.

    No, thank you Brenda. There is a poetic imp that lives well inside of my person, and begs, on occasion, to strut his stuff on that widening stage. I came very close to blocking on that word ‘erotic’, and then it became cornerstone for all of this fun and laughter. I know you have heard this perhaps a thousand times, but the wordles do stretch us and take us beyond our limiting comfort zones. Thank goodness, and you my friend, for that, yes?

    Elizabeth

    Like

  8. Carol Steel says:

    Wonderful. I enjoyed the playfulness and creative use of the wordle words. Thank you.

    Carol, thank you. I can easily get hung up in “putting my best foot forward”, especially when it comes to poetry and the writing of it. It’s good to be able to play a bit, and just be human.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  9. Irene says:

    I know Elizabeth, erotic is such a loaded word. It’s so obscene, when it should mean sensual.

    Oh Irene, so glad you came back. And you are so right, some words seem to be burdened or overloaded with meanings and connotations that drown them. This is one of those for me (and I’m sure many others). The best way to deal with that, for me, was to play with those feelings and my own strong reaction to the word itself. An old friend surprised me with a phone call and I spoke to her of my dilemma. She laughed and then gave me some very wise and structured advise. I kept hearing the tiger in my head. “It’s only a word, random letters put together.” I’m glad I listened. I was truly surprised at my own response of automatic rejection, even though I’m aware of where it probably came from. Have to wonder how many still remain, even after all of these years of writing. I may have to do some exploring with the concept of ‘taboo’ words. Haven’t done that in ages. Thanks again, Irene,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  10. Sexy and exotic, Elizabeth. Oh, that Matthew, he is something else, no?

    Pamela

    Thanks Pamela, and yes, yes, yes!

    Elizabeth

    Like

  11. Your poem was much more sensual than the blah beefcake of Matthew et al. I’m sort of unimpressed with the Chippendale’s scene in general, as it’s women in the audience behaving like men at strip clubs… but I really appreciate the poem anyway, on its own merit! Amy

    Broken Record (Sun Scribs, Bloomings, Whirl)

    Amy, you almost got eaten by the Spam Monster, but I managed to save you. And thanks much for the comment. I actually did see the Chippendales once, out of curiosity. Have to agree with you. But the poem is simply a metaphor for writing and the often seductive call of the words. Matthew was meant as humor, and I really do like his grin,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  12. JulesPaige says:

    Those tricky words…there always seem to be one. You saw how I slide mine in it’s place… It think though you are most definitively correct when you say the list takes us to places we wouldn’t normally go. And that is the magic – isn’t it?

    I do like though how you placed the process of writing like an act on the stage…and sometimes they can get quite steamy.

    Lol, Jules. Your comment reminds me of a poem I wrote about rolling a pen between my fingers. It was consciously deliberate and one of the poets (male) in our group, took objection to its blatant sexual connotations. There is a very seductive relationship between the writer and words, the poet and pen on paper. Irene is so correct when she says that erotic means sensual. We poets, writers, trade on sense imagery, i.e. sensual images that we hope will bring pleasure, perhaps satisfaction to those who would lean in to listen, but also pleasing ourselves in the process. My personal reaction to the word flew out the window as soon as I could see the path it was directing me to. I truly believe that the act of writing is an ongoing extended metaphor for a life lived fully, sometimes in vivid detail, but always one moment, one word, at a time.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  13. Oh Elizabeth! Do behave! Quite the impish little romp. 😀

    Walt, I am of an age when misbehaving is tempered by thoughts of possible cost. Doesn’t mean I always listen to my own counsel, but I have to admit, sometimes its just plain fun. My love affair with words, poetry is well documented here on this page and others. My hope is that I will die with a pen in my hand and a gleam of a twinkle in my eye. That would not be a bad ending, yes?

    Elizabeth

    Like

  14. Cathy says:

    Good poem , now are you glad that I choose erotic 🙂

    Lol, very glad Cathy. I learned/relearned an important lesson in all of this. Several of them, as a matter of fact. Words are only tools and we need to know when we have redefined them and made them something more than that. Once I got past my initial reaction, I had fun with these words, and certainly enjoyed the responses and discussion here. Writing is obviously one of my favorite topics. Thank you for all of the words and for your visit,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  15. Well, that was a twist. In a good way! Love the hunky-ness of it. Well done 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment