“Everything Is Connected”

 

I haven’t been here for a while. Family crises do that. My thoughts have been here, but that certainly isn’t the same thing. I have been wanting to do something for some time. The title of this blog is Soul’s Music and I have pretty much kept it to poetry. But, it was my intention, when I first started this blog, to also include some of the actual music that has shaped and formed who I am. So, that is what I am going to do today.

I haven’t given up writing poetry. As a matter of fact, I am currently working on a series of poems, but have decided that I won’t be posting them here. It’s a series about my current situation and is far from complete. So, as a tribute to my favorite poet, Lucille Clifton, I will be sharing a piece of music that, for me celebrates life. Lucille passed away a couple of weeks ago. I was saddened by that information. But, she will ever be the one individual who made me aware that I am a poet.

This piece of music came into my life over twenty years ago. And right from the first time I heard it, I knew it would never grow old or fade into the background of my existence. The moment I hear the first notes, my body starts to move and I start grinning. It could be a theme song for me.

I’ve had a few dark moments of late. Lots of introspection and unanswered questions that finally sorted themselves out and fell into place yesterday morning. When I got on my computer, I saw a familiar name and clicked on it, only to have this song come to dance around me and my circumstances. It was perfect and made so much more sense out of all those finally answered questions. I actually got up out of my chair and danced (I was completely alone, so no one got hurt).

But when I finally reseated myself, I went in search of Lucille, only to find these words she had spoken, “Everything Is Connected.” And so it is, had been for me in the previous 24 hours. She once wrote a poem asking the world to come celebrate what she had made of her life. It’s one of my very favorites and this song says the same thing for me.

It’s by Peter Gabriel, who  in my way of thinking, is one of the best poet/musicians of the past century. The video is of Peter in concert. I love what he does with this song on stage. It makes even more sense out of my present circumstances. So, I am posting it here, asking you to come celebrate my life, Lucille’s, and Peter’s. We are all connected. To view it full screen, just click on the arrows on the bottom right of the dashboard below the video. Then, if you can, turn up the volume and dance.

About 1sojournal

Loves words and language. Dances on paper to her own inner music. Loves to share and keeps several blogs to facilitate that. They can be found here: http://1sojournal.wordpress.com/ https://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/ http://claudetteellinger.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in "Everything Is Connected" and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “Everything Is Connected”

  1. Susan B. says:

    What an absolutely joyous little film! I have never been that fond of Peter Gabriel, but the one song I love is this one (never knew the name, though). Thanks: a great celebration of life: here’s to the life and work of Lucille Clifton, Peter Gabriel, Elizabeth *****!

    Like

  2. 1sojournal says:

    Thank you, Susan,

    and I agree 100%. I love the movement and the deliberate and conscious choice to change directions, more than once, that underlies the celebration of all of life’s possibilities. How the words fit the music and the music fits the movement and then all of that and how it resonates through out the individual and the crowd. Joyous is an absolutely perfect word choice. It reminds me of my own first spiritual experience and again that is so connected up with my sense of Lucille Clifton and the person she was and will always be.

    Elizabeth

    PS I might just try this again!

    Like

Leave a Reply

