About The Why of It

What are all of these words
really? Nothing more than
a bid for remembrance?
To know that my presence
has made some sort
of difference? Faint hope
that distilled essence
will have meaning
long after I am gone?

As if I’ll care when
I’m no longer here,
nor there, or even remember
myself. Silly woman sitting
in morning’s chair, doodling
on paper, these mumbled
prayers, supposedly poems
looking for permanent homes
in a world completely unmoved,
as uncaring as stone.

No, this isn’t being done
for posterity’s sake, this
making of words is not
for my children, or for
their children’s children.
This doing on paper,
words that leave only
a fading mark, disappearing
even as they appear in stark
contrast to empty space,
seeking a place to become,
wanting birth on this earth
that just keeps spinning in its
own mind made darkness.

This doodling of doings
is only for me, finding
its true home alone, deep
in my soul, where a careless
sea of images call to be
sorted, courted one at a time,
gluing themselves together
in rhymes that I might remember,
just where I’ve been and won’t
get lost as I toss my way
toward whatever I am still
to become.

Elizabeth Crawford  2/9/09

About 1sojournal

Loves words and language. Dances on paper to her own inner music. Loves to share and keeps several blogs to facilitate that. They can be found here: https://1sojournal.wordpress.com/ https://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/ http://claudetteellinger.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in About The Why of It and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to About The Why of It

  1. luvmoons says:

    I love this. You are so talented!

    Like

  2. 1sojournal says:

    Thank you for the compliment. This one didn’t come fully hatched. Had to let it incubate for a few days, but then when it decided to show itself, I got caught up in the process right here on the site. I love it when things like that happen.

    Have taken a look at your site and you have some talent as well. Look forward to seeing more.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  3. S.L. Corsua says:

    Poetry writing both as a way of release and of making sense (order through a flow-stop-flow of words) of what is unleashed. 😉 Like breathing, then playing with air.

    Thank you for sharing your poetry. I’ve been enjoying the read. Your poems have a fluidity to which I can relate. “Bone Woman” is a strong favorite (for its imagery and word choice) as well as “Standing in the Gap” (thought-provoking). Cheers.

    Like

  4. 1sojournal says:

    I often think of writing poetry as ‘breathing lessons’. Breathing in as inspiration, exhaling as expression. I took a brief look at your site and loved what I found there. Look forward to going back and browsing at my liesure. Thank you very much for your comments and encouragement.

    Elizabeth

    Like

Leave a comment