Wild Gift

For The Sunday Whirl poetry prompt: Wordle #115
http://sundaywhirl.wordpress.com/

wordle # 115

Wild Gift

Rushing across the bridge,
she raced down the lane
toward home, retreating
from hectic unstable world
of work demands that seemed
to move in bends of ever changing,
stranger directions.

Alone, in own space, couldn’t bear
another moment in uniform
she had to wear daily, which now
lies in a heap at her feet, where it
had fallen in her need to pull on
familiar, far more comfortable
clothing.

Then out the back door, up and over
the hill, to the meadow filled with tall
grasses and wildflowers.  She thought
of it as her own secret island, a bit
of heaven she would share with no one
except the rock and the bird.

Reclining in a crevice of the rock,
she sighed deeply, felt her bones
embraced by heat still held in the stone.
Shielded her eyes searching the sky,
and yes, there was the hawk circling
above in slow lazy ease. It seemed
to stoop toward her and something
dropped from its beak, then drifted
down slowly on the gentle current
until it landed softly within her reach.

A feather she would take home,
always treasure for its message
of the wild gift of freedom
that must be nurtured
deep within all living things.

Elizabeth Crawford  6/30/13

About 1sojournal

Loves words and language. Dances on paper to her own inner music. Loves to share and keeps several blogs to facilitate that. They can be found here: https://1sojournal.wordpress.com/ https://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/ http://claudetteellinger.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Wild Gift and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Wild Gift

  1. Stan Ski says:

    A great escape!

    Like

  2. veronicabalfourpaul says:

    I can feel the rush to get out of those work clothes! And the peace of being in nature. Lovely.

    Like

  3. Nanka says:

    I can feel the joy and happiness of being alone and yet not alone!! Great imagery!!

    Like

  4. I could feel that rush of changing out of the work clothes to get comfortable and then the peace of finding a place to relax!

    Like

  5. Misky says:

    I love this line “felt her bones embraced by heat still held in the stone” – it’s so accurate. Nice piece, Elizabeth.

    Like

  6. Irene says:

    A rock garden sanctuary followed by the gift of a feather – wonderful.

    Like

  7. WabiSabi says:

    This piece is exquisite! It brought tears of recognition to my eyes! Thank you for sharing this! I LOVE it. Tanka Whirl

    Like

  8. Mary says:

    Beautiful, Elizabeth. There is nothing like getting out into nature (in comfortable clothes) to refresh one’s spirit after a long and stressful workday!

    Like

  9. Sabra Bowers says:

    Love the image of the hawk feather falling. I love your poem of escape.

    Like

  10. brenda w says:

    Your words paint a beautiful reprieve, and serve as a reminder of what is truly important.

    Like

  11. magicalmysticalteacher says:

    I like the detail of the heat still held in the stone. It reminds me of a cold morning years ago in a little cabin on a Kentucky hilltop, where I, in bare feet, stepped on the spot where my dog had spent the night—oh, the warmth that seeped into me! Thank you for triggering this memory.

    A Weird Quartet

    Like

  12. annell4 says:

    With feather, you created a gift of writing!!

    Like

  13. Oh yes, to have a place like that to come home to. Nice descriptions.

    Like

  14. Pamela says:

    Wonderful visuals in this, Elizabeth. I could see her perfectly. Nice use of the words, my friend.

    Pamela

    Like

  15. seingraham says:

    You’ve captured the urgency of the day and the need for respite so well here…and I love the idea of the feather drifting down being a souvenir to remind her of time and place … well done.

    http://thepoet-tree-house.blogspot.ca/2013/06/every-day-without-him.html

    Like

  16. Beautifully done Elizabeth. I can completely emphasize with the feeling of freedom of shedding work clothes, escaping stress, and catching that glimpse of freedom. I feel like that quite often. 🙂

    Like

  17. Cathy says:

    I know that feeling, you have to escape into nature. Though for for me, it’s more wanting sometimes to be closer to God

    Like

  18. Marianne says:

    My little house is the refuge I seek from the cares of the world. We all need a place to get away and recharge. This is lovely, Elizabeth.

    Like

  19. I love how smoothly this flowed.

    Like

  20. Elizabeth, the Wordle also led me to a resting place… but this is BRILL. I remember peeling off the waitress uniform and slipping off the stinky white nurse’s shoes after a shift. Usually had to shower the ice cream off my inner arms, too, yuck.

    Then this person gets to frolic in nature and finally receive, not grasp, but gently accept a gift from the hawk. A mesmerizing, truly lifelike, lovely poem, my dear. Amy

    Like

  21. Denise says:

    A sacred feather, indeed. Well done, Elizabeth!

    Like

Leave a comment