A Gambol With Time

For Miz Quickly’s poetry prompt: day 5, sound
http://imprompt.wordpress.com/2013/04/05/april-5/

RSCN1172

A Gambol With Time

Am becoming jaded by this game
I have been playing. Chasing after
tiny tiles, racing after pacing clock,
always getting chopped off, just
before I am finished.

A life lesson from the Universe?
Conversing in simple symbols:
thimbles of time steadily running
out, before I’m ready to begin
this chore, I alone have been given.

Distracting myself will never
complete this task, of which
I’ll admit I am frightened. Steady
tightening of allotted time seems
to make me only run faster.

Elizabeth Crawford  4/5/13

About 1sojournal

Loves words and language. Dances on paper to her own inner music. Loves to share and keeps several blogs to facilitate that. They can be found here: https://1sojournal.wordpress.com/ https://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/ http://claudetteellinger.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in A Gambol With Time and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A Gambol With Time

  1. Sherry Marr says:

    I so relate to this, Elizabeth. Ack! I am right there with you, as time speeds along way too quickly for all there is yet for us to do.

    Like

  2. margo roby says:

    I love the play on sound of your title.
    It does grow faster, doesn’t it? I try to look at it from the point of view of long lived forebearers who lived into their 90s and 100s. That way I can say: Damn! I have 40 years left… bar going under a bus from scattiness.

    margo

    Like

  3. Stan Ski says:

    Never enough hours in the day…

    Like

  4. Marianne says:

    Oh my yes! I’m always rushing, always running out of time. Your last line is so true:
    “Steady
    tightening of allotted time seems
    to make me only run faster.”
    Find me here:
    http://herwordsbloomed.blogspot.com/2013/04/2013-napowrimo-5-in-this-kitchen_5.html

    Like

  5. Misky says:

    A thimble of time is a brilliant concept. Wonderful write, Elizabeth.

    Like

  6. julespaige says:

    I remember in my youth marking half birthdays with delight. Now it appears we (surely just not I being) sandwiched in the middle of generations, fear the fate of our elders who sometimes can’t remember their names.

    Thanks to Miz Q’s prompt for my Mr. – Though only fictional I am sure he resembles some to a truthful ‘T’.

    Like

  7. Pamela says:

    I can relate to this, Elizabeth. I won’t have a birthday party anymore, haven’t for the past four years. In fact, this year I had to ask my husband how old I was, lol. I love the sounds you used here.

    Pamela

    Like

  8. Quickly says:

    Thimble. Nice unit of time.

    Like

  9. annell4 says:

    So true, I work hard each day, try to use the time I have left. Can’t seem to take a day off, so afraid of not using the time wisely….

    Like

  10. This was fun to read Elizabeth!!! Following line to line the sounds that you chose to use was a treat and your topic is one that so many of us can relate to for certain. I’ve been trying to make my days longer these days…going to bed earlier, waking up earlier doing the things I think I want to do instead of just thinking of them and being overwhelmed that there isn’t enough time. Tricky act we play isn’t it?!! Thank you, for this…and your visit!! 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment