What The Dragon Woman Knows

 

NaPoWriMo – day 15

Card 42, Gallery 1

 

What The Dragon Woman Knows

She 

has been

long afraid

of many things.

Each fear becoming

boundary limits which held

her fast to narrow landscape.

Now freed, she reaches to embrace

beauty, grace, knowledge, wisdom of soul

kept in abeyance through long years of fretting.

Is finally free to touch world that surrounds her.

Mountains to climb, seas in which to swim, air breathed,

pulled deep into lungs, expanding to fullness,

bringing inspiration with each felt breath.

Life worth living, leading to wholeness.

Has even found that she is able

to reach out and touch, embrace

fully, what she feared most.

Splitting darkness of

shadows within,

she has found

herself

friend.

Elizabeth Crawford  4/15/11

Notes: Form is syllabic: 1 syllable added with each line… 1 thru 12, and back again, 12 thru 1.

Soul Cards: both galleries may be viewed by clicking on image. They were created by Deborah Koff-Chapin, and her site may be found here:  http://www.touchdrawing.com/

 

About 1sojournal

Loves words and language. Dances on paper to her own inner music. Loves to share and keeps several blogs to facilitate that. They can be found here: https://1sojournal.wordpress.com/ https://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/ http://claudetteellinger.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in What The Dragon Woman Knows and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to What The Dragon Woman Knows

  1. vivinfrance says:

    I wanted the form to stay on the increase, as the dragon lady was expanding her horizons. But it wouldn’t have looked so pretty on the page.
    ViV

    Actually, that is how I first found the form. Simply 1 thru 12. But, when I first tried the second set of lines, I liked that a lot as well. What I like about it here, is that out and in movement, and this journey is of the soul, and that seems to lend emphasis to the form and the movement of the journey. Sort of like breathing. Thanks for your comments Viv,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  2. She’s found herself and is now spreading her influence.
    This is building to a big finish…

    One step at a time Stan, more than that and I will get blocked and never find a finish. Very much like your brief synopsis, and yes, that would seem to be what is happening. Thanks,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  3. Tilly Bud says:

    I love this form! Good last line.

    Tilly Bud, the first time I tried it, I found myself getting lost in the counting. It got easier. This was the easiest one of all, for some reason. Thank you for commenting and I love that last line myself, lol.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  4. Ron. says:

    The structure works well with content here. Well done.

    Thank you Ron, I think the form naturally builds toward a stating of fact or opinion.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  5. Judy Roney says:

    What an incredible poem of awakening. I love this! Fears can stifle us and stop us from living.

    Judy, this journey seems to be about a continuous awakening process. Fears can be terrible enemies, but also good friends. Thanks for stopping in,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  6. Susannah says:

    This is beautiful! I am enjoying all of this series of poems but this one touched me especially. x

    Susannah, I am pleased to know that it had value for you. It sort of leapt on the page, perhaps been waiting a long time? Whatever, this one I like more than a little. Thanks for stopping and commenting. I loved what Zing had to say about pre-dawn awakening,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  7. Really wonderful! Well done and it looks very distinctive, too! May I call you friend?

    Lol, Annell, what else would you call me? Especially since bringing me all those spices,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  8. Marianne says:

    I enjoyed this form and can’t wait to try one. I love the way your words and structure build. Well done!

    Thank you Marianne, and I like the form as well, for just that reason,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  9. pamela says:

    Elizabeth, this form lends intensity to your words, beautiful.
    I keep meaning to try this form, maybe before napo is over.

    Pamela

    Hope you do Pamela, I would love to see what you find in it,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  10. WOW! Elizabeth!!!!!!!!!!! This one is MAGIC! I just finally posted mine and then came here to read yours……we saw some of the same things in the cards, in our different voices. I so love your traveler’s discovery of mountains to climb and seas to swim in. I can feel the exultation. And the last lines: she has found herself, friend. Such wonder and wisdom in this poetry journey. Wowzers! It just gets better and better. Am loving it!!!!

    And I love your enthusiasm Sherry. It’s an energy fix in the midst of a very rough week. Thanks and hugs, my friend,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  11. andy sewina says:

    Love the wonderful shape of your poem, I’m glad she found herself!

    Thank you Andy, and so am I.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  12. Lnda says:

    I love the form—and probably will try it at some point. Lovely evocative poem.

    Linda, glad you like it, so far it has worked well for me. Thanks for stopping in to read and comment,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  13. Gloria says:

    Amazing, magnificent….form and content…absolutely beautiful!

    Gloria, thank you for your generous words and enthusiasm. They are needed today,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  14. Jinksy says:

    I’ve only seen Etherees before, that go fron one to ten, so this was a little different, growing to twelve. Perhaps dragons take up more room?! LOL

    Hi Jinksey, is that what this form is called? But, it’s best to remember that dragons are often shape shifters, able to grow beyond measurable bounds, but also able to make themselves as small as a mouse. Depends on the need of the moment. Thanks for stopping in and enlightening me,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  15. Well done. I liked the way it reads … and the way it looks.

    Thanks Madeleine, I like this form,

    Elizabeth

    Like

Leave a comment