A Conversation

For Creativity Challenge Day 15: Together
http://1sojournal.wordpress.com

raft

A Conversation

Yesterday, I gave the world
a hug. She thanked me, filled
my soul with her deep rich
warmth. Then asked,

What have you learned,
Little one?

That alone, I am only one.
One voice, amid many others.
But, together there is strength.
In unity, our voices have
been heard.

You speak of Standing Rock?
You realize this is but a first
step? That many more
will need to be taken? One
at a time. One after another?
This has already been
centuries in the making.

But, I am an old woman.
What more can I do?

Keep learning the ways
of the original Protectors.
Learn to quiet that brash
need to move forward.
Learn to accomplish
patience. Learn to breathe
in this moment, taste its
fullness before releasing it,
then breathe in the next.
Keep your eyes and ears
open, to see, to listen. Let

your senses teach you
how to be both patient
and grateful for the life
you have been given.

Patience and gratitude, huh?

Yes, she says, with the warmth
of a sunrise in her smiling voice.
The natural slowing down
with age, serves a purpose.
It allows for deeper reflection,
and that, in turn, allows for
a depth of understanding, that is
sometimes called Wisdom.

Elizabeth Crawford 12/5/2016

Image is one of my designs, colored with India Ink, then given a digital background.

Save

Save

Save

Save

About 1sojournal

Loves words and language. Dances on paper to her own inner music. Loves to share and keeps several blogs to facilitate that. They can be found here: http://1sojournal.wordpress.com/ https://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/ http://claudetteellinger.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in A Conversation and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Conversation

  1. Beautiful poem and design

    Like

  2. Sherry Marr says:

    Oh, I drank this poem down like elixir. Standing Rock is in my thoughts these days and I knew before I read this it will be in the poem with which I respond to this prompt…..I smiled to see it here in yours. I love Mother Earth’s smile like sunrise, and her words about the wisdom of we older beings…………I loved this one, my friend.

    Like

Leave a Reply

