Article of Faith

The Sunday Whirl: Wordle #263
https://sundaywhirl.wordpress.com/

bless, only, left, enter, brush, turn,
part, free, plate, cross, post, count

Sunday’s Whirligig: Wordle #74
http://sundayswhirligig.blogspot.com/

scornful, harsh, old, silly, cry, serene,
infant, dreams, senseless, smite, absolution, songs

Poets United: Poetry Pantry #317
http://poetryblogroll.blogspot.com/

Reflection ManipulatedPhotograph by Elizabeth Crawford

Reflection
ManipulatedPhotograph
by
Elizabeth Crawford

Article of Faith

Perhaps I am in need of absolution?
Forgiveness for singing these old, silly songs,
poems considered by some as senseless.

Ones that seem harsh, just this side
of scornful, while others are serene,
like an infant drifting in milky dreams.

Yet, each one counts as some part of me.
Sign posts marking crossroads, a turning
to left or right on entering new pathways.

Only brushing lightly at certain corners,
while freely diving deeply into others.
Cries of both blessings and sorrows.

Would a loving Deity smite me for following
this path, for nurturing self from this plate
others might find lacking in substance?

No. I don’t believe so.

Elizabeth Crawford  8/28/16

Notes: I have been working for what seems forever, on my Poetic Memoir. Over the past few weeks I’ve been seeing what I hope is the finish line. These two word lists wouldn’t seem to go in any other direction.

The image is a photograph manipulated with a Kaleidoscope App. And I used all of the words.

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

About 1sojournal

Loves words and language. Dances on paper to her own inner music. Loves to share and keeps several blogs to facilitate that. They can be found here: http://1sojournal.wordpress.com/ https://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/ http://claudetteellinger.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Article of Faith and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Article of Faith

  1. thotpurge says:

    each one counts as some part of me… so true..each poem does indeed.

    Like

  2. Sumana Roy says:

    ‘nurturing self’…absolutely…”an infant drifting in milky dreams.”…a beauty-dream of a line…

    Like

  3. Yet, each one counts as some part of me.
    Sign posts marking crossroads, a turning
    to left or right on entering new pathways.

    Beautifully reflective ❤

    Like

  4. Jae Rose says:

    All part of the journey – if the world were all milky dreams would it become tiresome..perhaps we need harsh and smooth..pebble paths and still waters in order to see who we are and find out what we believe – and no, i don’t think so either

    Like

  5. I think we need to walk our own paths a bit… and if any higher power judges us for doing so, then it should be challenged (and I don’t think so either)

    Like

  6. Marcoantonio says:

    all turns left or right are eventually determined to be the correct path for they are and will become part of us.

    gracias,

    Like

  7. oldegg says:

    One of joys of life is to sing silly love songs because they are like a flashback to our precious past.
    Do we really need to be that serious about life?

    Like

  8. I could so relate to this because I am going through the same questions in my head.

    Like

  9. gillena says:

    ” milky dreams” – my grand daughter 3 going on 4 tells me she dreams of lollipops and ice- lollies (smiles)

    Happy Sunday

    much love…

    Like

  10. Susan says:

    I don’t believe so either. I enjoyed this.

    Like

  11. Sherry Marr says:

    I resonate with the cries of blessings and sorrows…………and we do take such nourishment from our writing. It is what we are here to do. I’m glad you are working through to completion of this project, Elizabeth. You inspire me.

    Like

  12. This is an absolutely beautiful poem, full of such great expressions of our search through poetry, and our relationship to it. I really loved this!

    Like

  13. colonialist says:

    Amazing that word lists trigger poems that need to be written.

    Like

  14. Audrey says:

    I don’t believe so either–the shadow parts of us are necessary for us to feel whole–this was beautiful Elizabeth

    Like

  15. And I also don’t believe so! 🙂

    Like

  16. ZQ says:

    An excellent “Article of Faith”

    Like

  17. Julian says:

    “No. I don’t believe so.” enjoyed your piece.

    Like

  18. Love the questions. And I believe a loving deity would see the light in creativity and musical devotion.

    Like

  19. Pamela says:

    Hi, Elizabeth. I love this piece, but your ending is fantastic. So, sorry for the late visit, but I just started back to the prepa and things are crazy.

    Pamela ox

    Like

  20. Karen Brendemihl says:

    Wow very interesting and though provoking our lives are very different at different times. Thanks cousin

    Like

Leave a Reply

