Once Upon A Mercy

For NaPoWriMo: Day 9
http://1sojournal.wordpress.com

purple-and-orange

Once Upon A Mercy

After completely ripping apart
seams of relationship…

Ten long years of empty
silence.

Phone rings…

Hello?

          “You probably don’t know
who this is…”

I’d recognize your voice, anytime…

          “Well, I’ve been thinking about you
a lot lately and thought I’d call…”

Been doing a lot of the same,
as a matter of fact, I wrote
about you yesterday…

          “Do I want to know what you wrote?”

I was writing out a list of my heroes,
and realized you’d be prominent
on that list. Was supposed to tell
why I feel that way, but sort of got
lost in the memories…

         “I do the same on occasion,
sure are a lot of them…”

Do you remember the blue boat
on blue water?

          “Yup, and the eagle Hope
flying backwards, and the bobber
shaped like the Baron’s head…”

Bursts of laughter from both sides
of the phone. More questions, memories
and laughter. Two hours later:

         “Would you mind if I called
now and then?”

I’d love it, hon…

Elizabeth Crawford 4/9/16

Notes: Only used three of the words, but the rest are implied, I hope. We had a choice of words and several suggestions. I chose to write about mercy both offered and received. Image is a digital painting. Wanted to see if I could put purple and orange together and have it work.

Musical inspiration is Peter Gabriel singing Mercy Street. He wrote the song after going to hear Anne Sexton read poetry from her book 45 Mercy Street.

About 1sojournal

Loves words and language. Dances on paper to her own inner music. Loves to share and keeps several blogs to facilitate that. They can be found here: http://1sojournal.wordpress.com/ https://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/ http://claudetteellinger.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Once Upon A Mercy and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Once Upon A Mercy

  1. What a wonderful recollection of memories and reminiscing! Timing is everything. 🙂

    Like

  2. It’s so important to forgive. Mercy. I love your title. The conversational format was a clever choice for this piece. Well done, birthday girl!

    Like

  3. Sherry Marr says:

    Such a wonderful conversation. Some relationships are like that. After ten years, you pick right up where you left off.

    Like

  4. Pamela says:

    I love conversation poems, Elizabeth. An excellent read. Thank you. Hope your birthday is going well, my friend.

    Pamela ox

    Like

  5. pmwanken says:

    Nicely captured conversation — with a superb title.

    Like

Leave a Reply

