Hard Lesson

For NaPoWriMo: Day 7
http://1sojournal.wordpress.com

afterglow-flood-2

Hard Lesson

In a fever of misunderstanding
I numbly sought receding horizon.
A defining line that would mark
difference between fact and feeling.

It took years of hard work, studying,
measuring, changing roles and clothes,
digging in sometimes rock solid soil
of memory, but I learned.

Facts, like two plus two equals four,
are statements of reality. While feelings
are seldom more than an early weather
warning device of the soul, to be heeded.

Just because I feel guilty, doesn’t mean
I’ve done anything wrong.

Elizabeth Crawford  4/7/2016

Notes: Creating these prompts can be a sticky undertaking. Mainly because they most often remind me of the years when I taught. I really loved that experience. But sometimes the voice of the teacher sort of overruns the voice of the poet. Like today. I’m not really pleased with this piece. And of course, after I finished writing it, several actual incidents slipped through my mind that might have worked better. But time is an actual factor in all of this. Just hoping those other ideas will hold out for their own time in the sun.

The image is a digital painting, the original work sold for a book cover illustration. What is here is the result of a friend showing me how to use one of the apps in my paint program. I thought it was very representative of that receding horizon line between hard facts and the more fluid elements of feeling.

About 1sojournal

Loves words and language. Dances on paper to her own inner music. Loves to share and keeps several blogs to facilitate that. They can be found here: http://1sojournal.wordpress.com/ https://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/ http://claudetteellinger.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Hard Lesson and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Hard Lesson

  1. Oh Elizabeth, I do love your explanation of feelings, and your final couplet. This prompt sent me chasing ideas, too. Every day is starting to whirl together, and we are only 1/4 complete for April 2016!

    Like

  2. Pamela says:

    Elizabeth, I really enjoyed this. I am losing steam and I have only written three poems. Ha!

    Pamela ox

    Like

  3. Bastet says:

    This is a wonderful way to get into those emotions that simmer inside … and the conclusion is so right on the dot … I enjoyed the poem very much.

    Like

  4. pmwanken says:

    Yep — that final couplet. Perfect.

    Like

Leave a Reply

