Wild Woman Speaks

Re-posted for Poets United: Poetry Pantry #337
http://poetryblogroll.blogspot.com/
In honor of the Women’s March yesterday. I only wish I could have been there.

 

For NaPoWriMo: Day 5
http://1sojournal.wordpress.com

morph-27-1-7-10

Wild Woman Speaks

I don’t care what you say anymore

There was a time when
I did. So long ago, even memories
have grown long thick fur
for warmth and needed protection.

Hibernation is long behind me.
I seek the sweet things in life,
like honey and sun dappled paths.
Curving myself around wild
scent of my own inner truths.
Carving future’s way, without
pause, by making choices I
alone can live with.

You never really knew me. Never
wanted to take the time to do so,
because your opinion just could
not be wrong.

But, I will admit, you might have
been right about two things. I am
a dreamer, now seeing those crazy
ideas to final fruition. And I am
a whole lot more wild than you could
have ever imagined.

Elizabeth Crawford  4/5/16

Notes: The prompt for today was to take a line from Billy Joel’s song My Life and use it as the title or first line of a poem. I knew immediately which line I wanted to choose. But then, as I started writing, a chat I had with Sherry at Poets United seemed to lend its energy and I ended up with something I wasn’t thinking of at all. I love those happy accidents when they occur. And thanks Sherry, this one is for both of us.

The image is a line weave drawing in pen and ink, done a few years ago. I’ve most often thought of it as a self-portrait. Me dancing wildly with words and colors. The chat with Sherry will be posted near the end of the month at Poets United. The Billy Joel song may be found here:

Save

About 1sojournal

Loves words and language. Dances on paper to her own inner music. Loves to share and keeps several blogs to facilitate that. They can be found here: http://1sojournal.wordpress.com/ https://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/ http://claudetteellinger.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Wild Woman Speaks and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Wild Woman Speaks

  1. This is my favorite of yours for the month thus far, Elizabeth. May the confidence and warrior spirit of your wild woman always push you forward. I love this piece, and will read it again, promptly. Thanks for being here, and for honestly sharing pieces of you. You wild woman. So glad you speak.

    Like

  2. Sherry Marr says:

    O!M!G! Word for word, you have spoken my very thoughts and feelings. I love the memories that have grown long fur for protection………..I am living with a relative who says I am “thinking of the dream, not the reality”. Damn right I am! And “you never really knew me” applies in this case too. FANTASTIC poem, my friend and fellow wild woman and I am thinking this poem needs to go at the end of our chat – what do you think?

    Like

  3. Riveting ink!!! Your drawing is amazing and I love how your wildness still shines through! It glows well. 🙂

    Like

  4. Misky says:

    This feels very freeing.

    Like

  5. pmwanken says:

    Love it — and can learn from it. Thank you.

    I especially enjoyed the way these words felt in my mouth, so to speak…
    Curving myself around wild
    scent of my own inner truths.
    Carving future’s way, without
    pause…

    Like

  6. Kerry O'Connor says:

    I especially like the finale of the poem.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Sherry Marr says:

    Of course I love this poem, especially pertinent after yesterday’s wonderful marching of wild and pissed off women. Wasnt it just the best? I love that we still dream and remain wild.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. sanaarizvi says:

    Wonderfully liberating write!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. YES !!! Keep going. Being right on a thing or two does not mean a right to boss around.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. says:

    This is a fantastic poem. It gets better as it goes along toward that powerful ending.

    I love this:
    “even memories
    have grown long thick fur”

    And this:
    “Hibernation is long behind me.
    I seek the sweet things in life,
    like honey …
    Curving myself around wild”

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Rosemary Nissen-Wade says:

    I love this beautiful and inspiring write!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Thotpurge says:

    And I am
    a whole lot more wild than you could
    have ever imagined….keep speaking wild woman!!

    Like

  13. Jae Rose says:

    The end lines are so striking – it gives hope..to one day take hold and embrace our differences – our own wildnesses

    Like

  14. ZQ says:

    Than, let us go together. None of us is alone.

    Like

Leave a Reply

