About Running

Sunday’s Whirligig: Wordle # 48
http://sundayswhirligig.blogspot.com/

morning, seeds, fiery, reeling, spray, hose,
crevices, stones, squirt, bathed, troubles, ask

The Sunday Whirl: Wordle # 240
http://sundaywhirl.wordpress.com

scarlet, group, run, bell, touch, jump,
threat, cross, dream, mist, kiss, enough

Poets United: Poetry Pantry #291
http://poetryblogroll.blogspot.com/

redmist15

About Running

Were you running because he was chasing you, or
was he chasing you because you were running?

Rumbler to Sparrow
in People of The Masks
by Kathleen O’Neal Gear
and W. Michael Gear

Had had enough. He was supposed to be
a Helper, not a threat. Jumping into early
morning dreams, spraying crevices of my
unwilling soul with a fiery scarlet mist that
only spoke of scary dangerous troubles.

Planting groups of seeds, fear heavy as stones,
crossing boundaries with an imp’s kiss
of laughter that bathed me in sweat, left me
reeling with the desire to run, rang all bells
with his squirting hose of terror.

Got quiet and finally asked him if he really
wanted me to sit, to listen, to actually hear
from his well of wisdom, why touch me with
this torture of sound and color? I couldn’t hear
for the noise he was making. We talked.

And I finally understood that wisdom is born
in silence.

Elizabeth Crawford  2/28/16

Notes: I have obviously continued to read the series of books by the Gears. This one explores the concepts of what is termed The Spirit Helper. I am familiar with it and believe I’ve had several (Personal Mythology). Here, they are presented as very frightening and often scary creatures. Rumbler is a child (nine years old) and a dwarf. Native Americans held a belief that dwarfs have many great powers. I wrote the poem in the first person because it was easier to do it that way. Much of the imagery I used for the fear aspect came indirectly from the incidents in the book, while some come from my own experience. Many, when called to the Journey, run from it, filling their time with distractions. Perhaps forcing the Universe to scare us into stillness so we’ll finally listen. It is only when we still ourselves that we can truly hear. The words in italics at the end of the poem are also quoted from the book and are part of the answer Rumbler gives to Sparrow when asked where and how he had learned what he knew.

The image is an older digital painting put through the kaleidoscope app, and strangely enough titled The Red Mist.

About 1sojournal

Loves words and language. Dances on paper to her own inner music. Loves to share and keeps several blogs to facilitate that. They can be found here: http://1sojournal.wordpress.com/ https://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/ http://claudetteellinger.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in About Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to About Running

  1. Jae Rose says:

    The opening quote and end lines are truly golden and the first person definitely feels ‘right’…along with your artwork it makes me think of running (particularly in dreams) as being stuck…that if we stop and talk to what/who is behind us – and who is in front – we may hopefully be able to travel, move and fly…

    Like

  2. Sanaa Rizvi says:

    Breathless… especially at the close.

    Like

  3. So often we shun a helping hand… I love the quote you started with… And that silence that we really seek.

    Like

  4. oldegg says:

    Silence is so beautiful in this noisy world and I agree with Jae about the use of the first person as it always gives words so much more credibility.

    Like

  5. Sumana Roy says:

    ah that “fiery scarlet mist” doesn’t let us see or hear till the inner ‘I’ is silent….love images and the quote…

    Like

  6. And I finally understood that
    wisdom is born in silence

    How very true! Wisdom is not to be readily announced for a wise person will be shown more respect if it is kept personal and not misconstrued as a show-off.

    Hank

    Like

  7. Misky says:

    The quote is perfection for this poem, and I love “I couldn’t hear for the noise he was making”. Nicely done, Elizabeth.

    Like

  8. both unique and challenging to reader and the unwilling soul ‘with crevices of fiery mist’ – your words made me stop and ponder – maybe wisdom will follow

    Like

  9. Truedessa says:

    In silence we can often hear the wisdom as we are still..it is like listening to the whispering trees. I believe we all have a spirit helper the helper may come in various forms.

    Like

  10. Mary says:

    Oh indeed….wisdom is born in silence. Sometimes a lot of sound AND color can be just so distracting!

    Like

  11. annell4 says:

    Sometimes the true is frightening, too true, too real, we look for distractions…..wonderful write.

    Like

  12. I was totally captivated by your opening lines, then deafened by the silence at the close. Delightful.

    Visit Keith’s Ramblings!

    Like

  13. Sherry Marr says:

    Reading this was a trip, my friend, and I think I need to read it a few more times. Love the process notes too. Yes, only in stillness do we hear.

    Like

  14. Myrna Rosa says:

    Enjoyed reading this. I think your writing goes deeply into the subconscious. It feels surreal, yet true. Made me think too about the existence of inner silence even when there is noise.

    Like

  15. Snakypoet (Rosemary Nissen-Wade) says:

    Wonderful poem, and now I think I must seek and read those books!

    Like

  16. C.C. says:

    I like the way that you incorporated quotes from the book and I always, always enjoy the digital paintings you include with your words!

    Like

  17. totomai says:

    There are many cases that it will take time for us to understand a certain situation, Elizabeth. The opening quote was perfect and the last lines of your poem was beyond perfect.

    Like

  18. Panchali says:

    A wonderful piece of writing indeed …wow!

    Like

  19. seingraham says:

    As many have said before me, this is a wonderful piece – and I agree – wisdom is often born in silence … now, I need to seek out these books as well. Nicely done. (I, too, love your art.)

    http://soundofthewordnight.blogspot.ca/2016/02/under-threat-of-dreams.html

    Like

  20. ZQ says:

    Beautiful and a wonderful way to close it.

    Like

  21. slàRueb says:

    Sometimes the noise blocks the ability to comprehend the much needed to silence to understand.

    Like

Leave a Reply

