About Those Senior Moments

The Sunday Whirl: Wordle @227
https://sundaywhirl.wordpress.com/

wings, inside, naked, clarity, river, stalk,
flies, first, red, world, want, plains

Sunday’s Whirligig: Wordle #35
http://sundayswhirligig.blogspot.com/

mayor, beyond, steps, close, never, forgotten, begin,
health, age, enter, senior, adventure

Poets United: Poetry Pantry #280
http://poetryblogroll.blogspot.com/

joans Hawk

About Those Senior Moments

There are some who might call me
a bird of prey, unaware that in dreams
I move on the wings of a red-tailed hawk.

Stalking high above fields and plains
with focused clarity, always on this side
of the river, health and age forgotten.

Beyond this inside naked need to fly, I want
little. Life is an adventure, taken one leaping step
at a time, in a world afraid to enter possibilities.

Fear of beginning closes many doors. One
must first be able to imagine, to believe. Will
never happen if you constantly tell yourself,

“I’m only having a senior moment.”

Elizabeth Crawford  11/29/15

Notes: Almost gave up on the two word lists. I looked at them several times and nothing was happening because my mind couldn’t get past that word mayor. Decided to follow another inkling. Mayor was the one word I didn’t use. But the piece reminded me of the image. A gift from a friend who understood my deep abiding fascination with hawks, once she showed me where I could find them. Sometime later, she came and asked me how to draw hands. I showed her the little I knew about attempting such a thing. I was floored when she brought me what she had done. It is a personal treasure with quite a story of its own.

My apologies. Once again, I am having problems posting return comments to your blogs. Will respond here, and cross my fingers til next time.

Save

About 1sojournal

Loves words and language. Dances on paper to her own inner music. Loves to share and keeps several blogs to facilitate that. They can be found here: http://1sojournal.wordpress.com/ https://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/ http://claudetteellinger.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in About Those Senior Moments and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to About Those Senior Moments

  1. This is excellent.. We should never fear to begin.. Every long walk start with the first step, and the road goes on and on,

    I agree Bjorn, but for many that first step is the most difficult one of all. Crossing the Threshold is always the first step in beginning the Journey called Life. Thanks for your visit,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  2. thotpurge says:

    Works at so many levels.. and that image is excellent..

    Thank you, Thotpurge. I agree. I’ve had it for a very long time and have never used it before. This poem seemed to call for it. It was taken and kept for years by a person of malicious nature. Perhaps that is why I have been reluctant to share it? Was told when I originally received it that it represented not only my connection with the hawks, but also the connection of our relationship, one with another.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  3. oldegg says:

    Often the fear of trying comes from being adventurous when young when soft options were chosen and then choosing a career that didn’t include a ladder to climb up also stagnates thinking. Better to attempt to achieve a little rather than not try and achieve nothing. Great post.

    Thank you, and I agree. Have known several individuals who carry little or no hope of succeeding and I am always deeply saddened by that reality,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  4. Sumana Roy says:

    “Fear of beginning closes many doors.” reads like an adage…”Beyond this inside naked need to fly, I want / little.”…love this….

    The ability of flight has always meant freedom to me and I envy my feathered friends. Thanks for your visit and your kind words. I particularly like that line as well,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  5. Fear of beginning closes many doors… Indeed it does. A world afraid to enter possibilities. A lot of fear and apprehension here, yet you step past them briskly. We all have our ‘moments’ – for me it’s my [insert mental disorder here] moments. It’s a bit too easy to let things slide with them instead of trying. I gotta keep that in mind. Thanks for the read!

    Hello Insidetheclock, glad to see you back again. The friend who drew the image suffers from DID and our friendship spans over twenty years. Actually, it was one of her alters who drew the picture. Another reason for cherishing it. And yes, we all have our moments. Fear is an energy flow that allows us to run like hell or make a choice to stand and face it. What I have learned is that facing it often makes it run like hell, lol.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  6. Jae Rose says:

    I wonder is it a mayoral image – one of wisdom and patience and knowing almost ceremonial – flying inside…i have to say i didn’t spot the hawk at first which echoed the sense of flying in your dream and nobody knowing as you silently navigate the supermarket aisles – that’s always good 🙂

    Hi Jae, had to laugh when I read your comment. For years, I have used the battery operated carts at the supermarket where I shop. Used to tell people that they had a wanted poster of me in the employees lounge that read, “She’s dangerous and hell on end stands.” I now have a “helper” who often does the shopping for me. I’m sure the store management breathes a sigh of relief when they see her coming. I know I do. Thanks for your continuing visits, you always make me think. Mayoral, hunh, I have always thought it was a spiritual message.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  7. Bastet says:

    Nicely written and so very true .. no one can fly if they clip their own wings … I was fascinated by the story of your friend and the history of the drawing … a great all around post, very enjoyable.

    Thank you very much Bastet. The actual history of the drawing could probably fill a novella. It helped me to understand that when your heart is in the right place, the Universe will go to great lengths to ensure that you are not harmed by the maliciousness intended. I just finished reading Dean Koontz’s book, Innocence. It is about just that issue. Perhaps that also was an inspiration for this post?

    Elizabeth

    Like

  8. Sanaa Rizvi says:

    Life is an adventure, taken one leaping step
    at a time, in a world afraid to enter possibilities.

    Love these lines.. life is truly one big adventure and full of endless possibilities.
    Beautifully executed.

    Lots of love,
    Sanaa

    Sanaa, I agree, so many possibilities. And yet, there are so very many who refuse to see them or acknowledge them. And as long as they do, our world will be out of balance. All we can do is keep putting the message out there and hoping some will hear it. Thank you for all of your visits,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  9. Snakypoet (Rosemary Nissen-Wade) says:

    Lovely back story, and I agree so much with what you say in the poem.

    Thank you much, Rosemary. I began writing poetry because I found it was the best and cheapest form of therapy. That still remains true to this day. I have long believed that there is a story behind every poem. I share them because at one point in my life, I couldn’t get inside poetry. It was simply a closed door to me and frustrating as hell. This is a public blog, therefore the backstories are aimed at those who might not get it, as I could not for the first half of my existence. It always helps to know that others read them and find something of value there.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  10. That is one sentence I have no intention of ever using. Onward and upward!

    Visit Keith’s Ramblings!

    Lol, so glad to hear that Keith. It occasionally races through my thought patterns, but I clamp my hands over my mouth and refuse to speak it. Hooray for both of us!

    Elizabeth

    Like

  11. Mary says:

    Yes, life is definitely an adventure! You are right about the fear of beginning. Life is so much richer though if we just jump in. Always enjoy your poetry, Elizabeth.

    As I do yours, Mary and thank you. Not only is life richer, but so much more interesting, and sometimes scary as well. But, once one decides to live, rather than just breathe and take up a little space, the most amazing things begin to happen. And continue to do so,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  12. That sketch is ASTONISHING. What a wonderful gift. I love that you fly as a red-tailed hawk. Did you ever read Hawk? One of the best books I read this year.

    Would have to agree with you about the sketch. Even after all these years, it still takes my breath away. No, I haven’t read it yet, but it is on my list. May buy it for a Christmas gift for myself (my way of enticing me to do the shopping I so dislike doing). It works for me, what else can I say?

    Elizabeth

    Like

  13. What a treasured gift that drawing and I can see how it inspired these fabulous lines…..I was particularly drawn to the notion of fear at the beginning.

    Thank you, Donna. Fear can be such a crippling thing, yet without it (energy flow) would we get much of anything accomplished? We need that fuel to do all those things we are so scared to do. And yet, we do them. Amazing, isn’t it?

    Elizabeth

    Like

  14. gillena says:

    the first step, the hardest; once that’s done, then choices further the way

    have a good Sunday

    much love…

    Backatcha, Gillena. Yes, that first step is the most difficult one. And yet, many of us keep taking it again and again. That, in turn, ensures us of our freedom to choose. And that is a priceless gift we give ourselves.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  15. kanzensakura says:

    The first step is hard. A journey of a thousand miles begins with one step – all of that. But how true this poem is and how incredible is the sketch of the hands around the face of the bird – at first I thought it was an owl, which is still a raptor. But sometimes, we do have to just jump right in there. Excellent poem, great back story.

    Thank you, kansensakura. Actually, the hawks began my journey through bird lore. Hawks and owls share the same environments, hunting the same prey, one at night, the other in daylight. She showed me the hawks, but later when we went camping, I showed her how to make a fist and kiss the side of it. It makes a soft squeaky sound and sounds like a small creature. We were alone in the camp grounds and within a few minutes (no more than five), we were surrounded by Great Horned Owls calling back and forth from the branches of trees over our heads. Another incredible experience, never to be forgotten,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  16. Life is an adventure–and fear can ruin so many beginnings–this is beautifully penned!

    Thank you very much, Audrey. I’m so glad you enjoyed it. It has brought back so many memories for me and I’m enjoying all of them,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  17. Oh, and I use that senior moment excuse all too often. I love the metaphor of the hawk and the amazing sketch. I’m fortunate to live in an area where I can enjoy hawks and other types of wild life.

    So do I Victoria. I love trying to get photos of them as well. They also have been known to visit as I sat on the patio at my former apartment. I have a crow who comes to chat every morning, and have even caught sight of a few Pelicans from my new windows.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  18. C.C. says:

    I love the wisdom inherent in this. And what a beautiful story about the drawing!

    C.C., thank you. The story has great meaning to me on a very personal level. It was time to share it,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  19. Truedessa says:

    Wow, the picture is amazing and I saw the hawk immediately but, then again I have a deep respect and love for this creature. Life is an adventure and we must be willing to fly to take in the view.

    So glad you enjoyed it Truedessa. Many years ago, another friend brought me a deck of cards called The Medicine Cards by Jamie Sams. They aren’t Tarot. They are an explanation of the mythology and symbolism of many of the better known totem animals of some of the Native American tribes. My ancestry is Native American on my mother’s side. The very first card I randomly pulled from the deck was the hawk. We all started grinning and nodding when I showed the card. No mistaking that message.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  20. Your senior moments are lovely, desirable and worthwhile. Mine are always daft!

    Thank you, Viv, but I disagree. I do have daffy moments, but we don’t discuss them, although a few of them are too hysterical not to share, lol. I love your wishes and share them all,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  21. The whole idea of senior moments holding us back is so great!

    Secret? I feel that panic every single time I go to click that publish button and wonder if anyone will understand this word slinging thing that I do. Panic or no, I still come back and do it every week. Thanks for your visit Carol,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  22. Glenn Buttkus says:

    Senior moments R Us, right? Thank God for the internet, for in a flash I can find the missing word or name. Counting my poem, this is the third one about birds of prey; cool. I used to have flying dreams; for 20 years now, I can’t remember any more of them.

    Glenn, I have to agree with you about the internet, been saved plenty of times when the noggin goes blank. I fell in love with birds of prey well over thirty years ago. Especially the hawks. Several of my students were convinced I could call them simply by being present. I would always tell them that is was probably more my sense of child-like awe that drew them. Thanks for your visit,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  23. modern tech does help us a lot.

    🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

