Mythopoesis 7 – Interlude

For NaPoWriMo Day 7

Mythopoesis 7 – Interlude

Zentangle Mandala #7  7-22-09aIn a valley
not too far,
yet not quite near
where the child and mother
dwell, lives a man
alone in a rambling house.

His valley is called Interlude
and no one, not even the man,
knows how it came to be called
by that name.

The valley Interlude
has a river running through it.
Each morning, the man rises
just before dawn, dresses
and goes to sit near
the river’s edge.

He closes his eyes
the better to hear
music of the sun’s rising.
And each day, he hears
a different song.

Sometimes, he sees
images that seem real
float before his closed eyes.
They often tell bits
of the story,
the myth that belongs
to whatever music
he is hearing.

Other times, those inner
images, seemed to tell him
how his day will be,
what might be the tenor
of its moving moments.

On this particular day,
he sits on his favorite
boulder and breathes in
the deep smell of water
and trees. He closes
his eyes to see
a lovely woman
standing at her
kitchen window.
Her unbound hair
ripples across and over
her shoulders and down
her back.

The music begins,
and it seems that the woman
is singing. He leans in to listen.

As the music dies away,
he opens his eyes to watch
the sun rise, its colors
a shimmering dance
that trips over the ripples
of the river’s restless waters.

He thinks that perhaps
only a fool would not hear
the truth in the words
still ringing in his ears.

Elizabeth Crawford  4/7/15

Notes: Music was my first love and I believe it led me to both myth and poetry. I have always felt a deep bond between all three. So, today I decided to add some music to this myth I am making. The image is a pen and ink drawing done several years ago. The music is Bette Midler singing The Rose. It took me months to learn the chords to this song so that I could play it on my guitar. My daughter and I would harmonize and many times, others would join in. We even sang it at a church where I had been invited to perform. I truly think that music can be, and often is, another form of making myth. You can enlarge the music video by clicking on the square in the bottom right corner of the video. When you finish listening, just click again on the square, and you will be right back here. Have a wonderful day.

About 1sojournal

Loves words and language. Dances on paper to her own inner music. Loves to share and keeps several blogs to facilitate that. They can be found here: http://1sojournal.wordpress.com/ https://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/ http://claudetteellinger.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Mythopoesis 7 - Interlude and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mythopoesis 7 – Interlude

  1. annell4 says:

    Yes, so many memories are woven into music, you never know what it will bring!

    Hi Annell. Music has been so intricately woven into my person, that I used to wonder where it ended and I began. Finally realized I’d never find that answer. It is simply a part of who I am, have always been, and will always be. Music taught me how to love and perhaps that’s why this song means much to me.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  2. Sherry Marr says:

    This is a lovely interlude. Listening to water each morning is a most wonderful practice. It has messages. I really enjoyed this poem, Elizabeth!

    Hi Sherry. Used to drive through the darkness, out to the lake, on occasion. It was always worth the effort. Thanks for stopping in,

    Elizabeth

    Like

Leave a Reply

