A Certain Type of Anxiety

For The Sunday Whirl poetry prompt: Wordle #178
http://sundaywhirl.wordpress.com/

DSCN4068

hospital, tests, anxiety, fluff, words, ouch,
pester, blood, know, meal, center, jello

A Certain Type of Anxiety

Remember test anxiety?
How blood suddenly felt thicker,
making knees wobble like jello
and eating a meal was unthinkable?

Didn’t make any difference
if it was words or numbers
one needed to know, mind
became nothing but fluff.

Could poke, prod, and pester
but at center there was only
a blank space, emptiness filled
with the ouch of doubt about knowing.

Age puts school long behind me, yet
still feel chilly chiming echo when
doctor says she needs tests done
at hospital.

Elizabeth 9/14/14

Notes: Have to admit the rebel in me rebels when the word list seems to have a particular bent or focus. This one seemed that way to me and I almost walked away from it. Took a while but finally realized I could write about test anxiety, but that left a few of the words hanging out there in the wind until I realized that test anxiety is still a factor in my reality.

About 1sojournal

Loves words and language. Dances on paper to her own inner music. Loves to share and keeps several blogs to facilitate that. They can be found here: http://1sojournal.wordpress.com/ https://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/ http://claudetteellinger.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in A Certain Type of Anxiety and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A Certain Type of Anxiety

  1. Me too, Elizabeth. This is the first time for me that a Wordle told me exactly what to write. I really prefer having to search for my theme!

    Like

  2. Old Egg says:

    Test certainly has negative connotations in many of our minds.

    Like

  3. Yes, I do. And now Cosmo Jr does too.

    Like

  4. jae rose says:

    The rebelliousness probably explains why you hated tests too – it’s all about measuring people against the norm….so hard to fight that one off…but on the whole as long as it’s not physical health related I’d rather be a little abnormal

    Like

  5. kaykuala says:

    Tests and hospitals! Very apparent! I took the bait too! A wonderful take just the same Elizabeth!

    Hank

    Like

  6. annell4 says:

    Just to make an appointment brings up the ‘ouch factor.’ I also found the words to be a bit restrictive, and left a few hanging.

    Like

  7. seingraham says:

    I know what you mean! I thought I was going one way and ended up going another…good thing too, my test anxiety’s an ugly thing.

    http://thepoet-tree-house.blogspot.ca/2014/09/the-anxiety-of-indefinite-pain.html

    Like

  8. You did well with these difficult words. i get the same way too at times. But that’s the challenge that I like.
    I like what you wrote and the road you took with it.
    Randy

    Like

  9. Yes, medical tests are not the blithe things they once were. Smiles.

    Like

Leave a Reply

