“The Oh of Pleasure”

For NaPoWriMo poetry prompt #7: Day 7
http://1sojournal.wordpress.com/

meaning, hurl, rattle, listener, pluck
taut, clenched, music, tender, unique

Please watch before reading

The Oh of Pleasure

Am hurled into a world
of new meanings as sea
of deepest blue gives birth
to life in brilliant hues
from pale green and yellow
to brightest orange.

Image of man walking alone
across snow-capped mountain,
rattles sense of own small
life, no more than wounded insect
crawling over corner of beige carpet.

Unique music plucks at inner strings
of listener, draws them taut with beauty
of ever-expanding, unknowable
Universe, where stars and planets
are tenderly clenched in arms of gaseous
clouds, same colors as small darting fish.

We are all one in our
oh of pleasure.

Elizabeth Crawford  4/7/14

 

 

 

 

About 1sojournal

Loves words and language. Dances on paper to her own inner music. Loves to share and keeps several blogs to facilitate that. They can be found here: http://1sojournal.wordpress.com/ https://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/ http://claudetteellinger.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in The Oh of Pleasure and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to “The Oh of Pleasure”

  1. michael says:

    I have been a fan of Lynch since Deep Breakfast, back in 1984, it was nice to give it another listen. I like your response to the song and video also, I think you captured it well in your poem.

    Thanks Michael, I was a bit worried that few would understand. I specifically went looking for this song, and got my mind blown with the video. Actually had another poem I was going to post this morning, but the words started tumbling after the first series of images. Love it when that happens,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  2. Such beautiful imagery all the way down the page, that I felt that oh of pleasure at the end………beautiful, my friend.

    Thank you as usual Sherry, that was exactly what I was reaching for. That sense of oneness and awe we should all feel when confronted with the beauty all around us. And our place and part within it.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  3. julespaige says:

    Reminds me of snorkeling in Maui and the Cosmos series I am enjoying.
    Nice. Very nice.

    Something I have always wanted to do but never had the opportunity, snorkeling. I did go beachcombing one whole afternoon when I was in San Francisco and actually got to see the Pacific shoreline. Hauled a whole box of goodies home and gave them away as gifts.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  4. Pamela says:

    Love the poem, Elizabeth, and the last couplet is super. Happy Monday to you.

    Love,
    Pamela ox

    And to you as well, my friend. Just listened to Cat Stevens at your place. Hard to say anything, let alone write, when you feel that way. Love and hugs,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  5. I love the darting fish, Elizabeth. From the grand, to the minute. Lovely.

    And back again. That’s what struck me the most strongly. Made me think of the cycle, circle of life.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  6. Mary says:

    Enjoyed the idea of being hurled into a world of new meanings. May this continue to happen as long as we live…finding new meanings as we go along, never being content with the same old, same old.

    Never revitalizing meanings is like preventing growth or change. Certainly not healthy in my book. I can only agree with you Mary, and hope that it always continues.

    Elizabeth

    Like

Leave a Reply

