Sorcerer 2

For 1sojournal NaPoWriMo prompt 2: Day 2
http://1sojournal.wordpress.com/

canto

Sorcerer 2

Dug deep into that soil,
explored each of its cracks
and crevices, until one day
he found it:
The Sorcerer’s Stone,
true primary source of all
that was magic.

Hands trembled, teeth clenched
in fear as he saw future:
all that language of power
passed down, learned
over countless centuries,
now in his hands.
Buried the stone even deeper,
then turned and slowly
walked away.

Elizabeth Crawford  4/2/14

 

About 1sojournal

Loves words and language. Dances on paper to her own inner music. Loves to share and keeps several blogs to facilitate that. They can be found here: http://1sojournal.wordpress.com/ https://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/ http://claudetteellinger.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Sorcerer 2 and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Sorcerer 2

  1. I think the sorcerer was right to re-bury it: power corrupts.

    Have always felt the same way.
    Elizabeth

    Like

  2. julespaige says:

    Your series reminds me of the History 2 channel programming of Ancient Aliens. There is somethings perhaps that the present people existing on earth might be better off not knowing.

    So many different names for ‘power’. I think poets tap into that stone every now and then 🙂

    Thanks for your kind words on ‘Be…Longing’ – I’ve created a page, so I can continue the story.
    with the next word list(s).

    I have always had some issues with the whole power thingie. Fairly certain that’s why the sorcerer turned away. And I agree that poets sometimes tap into that stone. Am liking your story and glad it will continue.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  3. I might walk away, too. Power is difficult. It’s easier to be as water, filling in the low spaces. Strong work, my friend.

    Thank you Brenda. It certainly doesn’t contain the heat of your poem for today…but I like the idea of continuing one day into the next.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  4. Pamela says:

    Powerful poem, my friend. I am poemless at this moment. I am however, going to read you guys. Maybe something will come to me. But, I am not going push myself.

    Love,
    Pamela ox

    No need to push anything my friend. First you take care of you and the rest will fall into place.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  5. michael says:

    I used your words Elizabeth, thanks for the inspiration.
    http://purplesplatitudes.wordpress.com/2014/04/02/incantations/
    I apologize for spelling your name wrong in the link though, LOL

    Michael, glad you found inspiration in the words and like the manner in which you wove them together. I find that misspellings are far too easy when typing, even though I reread for that reason, I still make them quite often.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  6. annell4 says:

    I used the second word and reworked my piece from Day #1.
    http://somethingsithinkabout-annell-annell.blogspot.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

