8/1/09

For We Write Poems poetry prompt #202: Journal Poem http://wewritepoems.wordpress.com/

pic #3

pic #3

8/1/09

Anger dissipated
suddenly know it isn’t something defective in me

Saw three separate hawks in quick succession
thought of myself and two sisters

Bright red truck on frontage road
not part of mainline traffic

our maiden name in huge white letters
emblazoned on the side panel

headed south
direction of childhood, memories…

An omen?

Ring of three (powerful),
old nemesis (catastrophic when broken)

Two sets of cousins…three sisters
each, odd man out

Saw my pain and knowing in her eyes.
Did she see the same?

Elizabeth Crawford 2/28/14

Notes: I didn’t follow the specific directions in the prompt which called for daily journal entries. Have journal pages reaching back over thirty years, so decided to pull one up randomly and use that to form a poem. Was surprised at what I stumbled upon. Will continue to do the same. And again, thank you Neil.

About 1sojournal

Loves words and language. Dances on paper to her own inner music. Loves to share and keeps several blogs to facilitate that. They can be found here: http://1sojournal.wordpress.com/ https://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/ http://claudetteellinger.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in 8/1/09 and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 8/1/09

  1. Wow! and what a poem! I envy you your journals. I did not keep them and regret that now, so much. Sigh. Yesterday, driving into town, I saw an eagle chasing a hawk. Yoiks. Poor hawk!

    Like

  2. I like the idea of this prompt! And I love what you did with it!

    Like

  3. Arresting photo and poem.

    Like

  4. Good Lord, I *wish* I journaled something like this. The poem reveals little bits of something but still holds a little mystery…and that photo is just creepy. Good, but creepy.

    -Nicole

    Like

  5. Your journal is very Elizabeth! Unusual, thought-provoking. I’m sorry I missed this prompt.

    Like

Leave a Reply

