Healing Path

For Poets United Verse First: Poetry Heals (100 words or less)
http://poetryblogroll.blogspot.com/

MG 8 metalicink sjetch 2

Metallic Ink
by
Elizabeth Crawford

Healing Path

I am a poet
following a healing path of words:
sometimes like a lost child seeking safety,
other times like a bold explorer with hope his only map.

The words always lead me
to the me I used to be.
To the me of who and what I am in present moments.
To the me I might one day become.

Elizabeth Crawford  5/8/13

About 1sojournal

Loves words and language. Dances on paper to her own inner music. Loves to share and keeps several blogs to facilitate that. They can be found here: http://1sojournal.wordpress.com/ https://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/ http://claudetteellinger.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Healing Path and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Healing Path

  1. margo roby says:

    I love these colours, Elizabeth.
    My son rarely [twice] comments on my poems, but after the Cassandra one he wrote and told me, ‘That voice. You should use that voice more often’. It was a voice set free by tiredness. I read your poem after spending a morning wandering back through blog posts, pulling poems I wanted to work on. This led to opening files of poems I wasn’t quite sure were about what. I found other poems in that voice, almost all for The Sunday Whirl, because my brain has to let control go, to some extent, when faced with a must include clause.

    Where the hell am I? Hang on while I track back to see where I am taking us. Okay, your poem. The second stanza made me wonder which ‘me’ the freer voice belongs to.

    Like

  2. margo roby says:

    Ack!
    margo

    Believe it or not, I actually understood all of that. And all of those voices are always present, the words just seem to choose who will perform at any given moment. I truly believe that is why poetry heals, it allows us to find our own person. Thanks for stopping by,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  3. Soulful and hopeful and simple, yet beautiful message.

    Thank you Bonnie, this one was rather easy. It is what I know and feel.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  4. alan1704 says:

    Full of hope and faith, a heartfelt prayer

    What would a poet be without her prayers? Thanks for reading and commenting,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  5. K says:

    Lovely poem. Your 2nd line had me immediately thinking to the healing power of mantras or affirmations, which I tend to use in my life a lot. I think your poem highlights the healing power of words, not limitted to just poetry.

    And you would be correct, although I find it most often in poetry but then I write more poetry than anything else. Thanks so much for stopping by,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  6. Old Ollie says:

    Great take on the prompt. cool little prayer

    You are the second one to mention prayer. Perhaps each poem is a prayer in its own right. Thanks for reading and commenting Ollie,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  7. Elizabeth,
    And this is indeed the beauty of poetry and words. The gift that we are given and the ability to share:)
    Eileen

    Couldn’t agree with you more, Eileen. Words are a gift that keeps on giving, as long as we share them with care and concern,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  8. Love this, so true how poetry can lead us to “who we may become”.

    I find that poetry, most written words, eventually lead us back to self. Really good therapy as well as a gift. Thanks for reading and commenting,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  9. I agree with your thoughts of all the me of yesterday, today and the future! The best part is with your own words, you can be whoever you want to be!!

    Robyn, it took me a while to figure that one out. Glad that I did and thanks for your generous words,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  10. Sherry Marr says:

    I love the idea of the poet “following a healing path of words” and the various “me’s” we encounter as we set the words free. Loved this, Elizabeth.

    Ah, my friend, we set the words free and they do the same for us. Beautiful circle of living and life.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  11. Mary says:

    Poetry definitely lets us be who we are…..if we allow it to do so. If a poet allows his/her depth to be shown through his/her words, it often resonates deeply with others rather than merely words. Some poets always present their deeper selves. Some poets sometime do. Some poets never do, and I always wonder about the latter…wonder why they so protect themselves and their reader from who they really are. As you said, poetry does lead a person to the person one used to be, is, or will become……….if the poet allows that, rather than presenting a mask to the world as well as to oneself.

    There might be two different reasons for that Mary. Some individuals are afraid to get to know themselves, afraid of what they might find if they do, while others will do whatever is necessary to gain whatever attention they believe they deserve. I don’t worry about any of that, because the reality is often found in the words themselves, whether planned or not. Thanks for the visit and the very thoughtful response,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  12. ‘To the me’ .. it is so true that words bring us around face to face with ourselves and what we want.. wonderful thought..

    Like

  13. Akila says:

    Truely of a cathartic journey! wonderful!

    Like

  14. I can so relate in high school I was undergoing the prerequisite identity crises and I started keeping a journal then one day I read some of it and realized I already know who I am, it is so obvious I am always myself even when pretending to be someone else its still me. This is fantastic! Poetry is a great way to discover yourself

    Like

  15. aka_andrea says:

    I love the idea of words leading you. Mine surely lead me.

    Like

  16. Sherri B. says:

    So many are writing about the healing that poetry provides…it’s very true! Your poem is beautiful, as is your mandala! Thank you for sharing.

    Like

  17. annell4 says:

    I like what you say, the you, you used to be, the you, you are now, and the you will be. Bravo!

    Like

  18. The conversational, open, honest feel of this piece is touching and inclusive. You’ve shared a personal perspective and made your readers feel, with intimacy, the essence of your writing practice.

    http://www.kimnelsonwrites.com/2013/05/10/wounded/

    Like

  19. Snakypoet (Rosemary Nissen-Wade) says:

    Ah, you beautifully express the way that poetry heals.

    Like

Leave a Reply

