Where I Come From

For Miz Quickly’s Impromptu Poetry Day 30: 30
http://imprompt.wordpress.com/

dscn1441

Where I Come From

Why work so hard
to be good at something
no one else really cares about?

Why spend hours,
sometimes days and weeks,
to tweak ordinary thought
into what might become extraordinary?

Never wanted to be a poet.
Where I come from that’s next to being
useless, a clueless bit of fluff who knows little
of reality, looking for any excuse to excuse
her from the hard, sweaty work in having a real job, or a life.

Yet, I find life
in a breath line, and time
is only a factor when I’m not writing poetry.
Moments hanging heavy, like a soaked woolen blanket
wrapped around a body drained of heat, or a slab
of meat, draped from a hook, looking to be cooked sometime later.

No, I never wanted to be a poet.
Never dreamed of spending sweaty hours
composing words that most don’t want to hear
or get near enough to listen. Somehow afraid that if they do,
it might take them to a place where the face they wear might be exposed,
seen in true light of day as something false, without any real meaning, bereft
of hope, and composed of fleeting desire for fame, riches, or something else

only a poet could find the means of explaining.

Elizabeth Crawford 4/30/13

Notes: Do I need them? Last poem, last day of this madness. Simply want to thank Miz Q, and all of you who joined in and made this a more than memorable experience. I salute you!

About 1sojournal

Loves words and language. Dances on paper to her own inner music. Loves to share and keeps several blogs to facilitate that. They can be found here: http://1sojournal.wordpress.com/ https://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/ http://claudetteellinger.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Where I Come From and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Where I Come From

  1. another journey into the world of Elizabeth you never cease to enthrall me I have thoroughly enjoyed your poetry and eagerly await more!
    Geraldine 🙂

    More? Oh my. I suspended my usual practice of responding to comments, here on site for the month, in hopes of conserving energy. It’s really hard to let go of all of this. I thank you for your kind and generous words and hope to keep seeing you in the future. Long last Poetry!

    Elizabeth

    Like

  2. margo roby says:

    Really? Not only a poem but one requiring thought? No, I have nothing. Nada. But, I will… something.

    margo

    I was pretty sure you would and you did. It’s amazing how much one can scrape out of the bottom of the bowl as long as you are holding the spatula correctly, lol. Thanks so much for being here, exactly when I needed you to be the individual you are,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  3. Elizabeth, this poem is going to be one of my all time favorites!

    Secret? I was scared to death when I realized where it was going. Already knew the title, and realized that the poem was anchored to it in more ways then one. Whew! It’s been a hell of a ride, and amazingly enough, I already want to do it again. Good thing I also know that my eyes have always been bigger than my stomach, so to speak. I’m so glad you like the poem, I do as well, once I got past that knee jerk reaction of what are they gonna think of this one? Don’t think I’ll ever completely lose that response. Thanks for reading and for your wonderful comment, both here and the other day. I’m so glad someone else remembers the store and how I saw it,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  4. Quickly says:

    Not fame and riches?
    (I especially like the soaked blanket.)

    Oh lady, there aren’t enough kudos to reward you with. Love the badge you created for me, just have to figure out how to transfer it to my sidebar. You did a bang up job of shepherding us through the last thirty days. I’ve always admired your dance with words, your sense of fun and humor. That you kept it all intact through this is amazing to me. I’d bow, but then you’d have to help me get back up again. Thank you Barbara, for everything,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  5. This is powerful!! Wow.

    “Yet, I find life
    in a breath line, and time
    is only a factor when I’m not writing poetry.
    Moments hanging heavy, like a soaked woolen blanket
    wrapped around a body drained of heat, or a slab
    of meat, draped from a hook, looking to be cooked sometime later.”

    So true…”real life” and “time” has this effect.

    and this:

    “Never dreamed of spending sweaty hours
    composing words that most don’t want to hear
    or get near enough to listen.”

    This is such a familiar punch in the gut…

    Glad to see it in words…somehow soothes and proves to all those who are under the illusion that being a poet is, “easy.”

    Thank you SO much Elizabeth for all that you do!! It has been wonderful writing near you and sharing in your side of the experience as well. 🙂

    And thank you Hannah for being exactly who you are. You have honed that eye of the observer to a sharp edge. May it always be so. And for the record, as long as I can continue, I’ll be right here doing me and my rebel thing, nowhere else I’d rather be,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  6. A wonderful job of expressing the hard work of writing poetry and how it often makes people see things they would rather not but in truth, there is freedom. Superb poem!

    I truly believe that a great deal of the fear about writing (the actual doing of it) is the fear of that freedom. I often told my students that their writing would eventually bring them to the very places they least wanted to go. It has been my own experience and has become a solid piece of my truth. We may not want to go to those places, but they are the ones that desperately need our attention and the healing that writing can and does bring. Whew! sorry, I’m off my soapbox now. Thanks for reading and really glad you enjoyed the poem,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  7. “Get near enough to listen” Loved it! Even when I don’t comment, I enjoy reading your poems. (get near enough to read, at least)

    Where would a poet be without at least one reader? Talking to herself and I already do enough of that. I’m glad you stayed with it this month, even with all the invisible comments between us. Hope you know you are an inspiration. Thanks for being who you are Marian,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  8. viv blake says:

    I don’t think there could be many poets who would disagree with your poem: it certainly chimed with me. I was feeling – as you say – low and useless, but a visit from two real poets for tea this afternoon put me back on track. It’s been a great month. and I’ve enjoyed all I have read of your poetry.

    Thank you Viv, so glad you enjoyed. My new writing group meets on Thursday and I so enjoy just talking to others who write and are curious about life and living, so I know what you mean about your visitors. I’d love to sit down within this group and just yak away for hours. But, Napo does help that desire a great deal, as well as the one for more.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  9. Stan Ski says:

    I like where you come from… 🙂

    So glad to hear that Stan. Hope we can do this again sometime. I certainly enjoyed your morning eye openers and needed them on several days. Thanks for being so consistent,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  10. Marianne says:

    A brilliant poem to end NaPo 2013 with, Elizabeth. I never knew any poets .. and then I was a poet! “Moments hanging heavy, like a soaked woolen blanket wrapped around a body drained of heat” is a spectacular line!

    I have enjoyed reading your work and appreciated your comments. This has been a remarkable experience. I had to challenge myself every day, but I think I grew as a person and a writer, and I learned so much, from all of the remarkable people I have encountered along the way.

    I agree, this group has been especially remarkable to work beside. Hope to do it again, soon. It’s hard to be alone with a love of words and language and not be able to share that. I never knew any poets either, until I went to college in mid-life. What an eye opener that was, but it also fed my addiction for more of the same. Thanks so much for being a part of all of this and for all of your wonderful comments,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  11. Irene says:

    This is good, Elizabeth. A brilliant ending. Btw I am currently kind of blogless. I’ll come back soon enough, once the new blog is ready to get wet.

    Oh? Are you planning a pool party? Sounds like fun and a bit of work. Hope it’s up soon, I need my dose of Irene poetics on a regular basis. Thanks for letting me know,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  12. brenda w says:

    Beautiful, resonating, perfect! This poem matters to me, as do you. Thank you for being my companion in this fantastic cyber world, Elizabeth. Let’s hope our words create journeys that expose those places of discomfort and awe. That’s why we do it…to get it out of us and share it. To have another say, aha! I love this piece. Thank you for your presence this month and always.

    Backatcha Brenda in double doses. It’s been great to see you more than once a week, and watch your dance with words and ideas. I copied and pasted that last prompt you used and plan on trying it on a few of my own pieces. Should be interesting. As always, thanks for being here,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  13. Pamela says:

    Enjoyable and somewhat uncomfortable, Elizabeth. But truly a work of art as always, Elizabeth. Thanks for being my friend. It has been enlightening.

    Pamela

    So, you did pick up on the discomfort. Thanks for letting me know, my friend. It has to be there, I was feeling it. It’s been a hell of a month and I am so glad that you traveled through it with me. Still want that face to face gathering some time, it would be great. Now go, sit back and relax, you deserve it,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  14. We all wonder , why we come here, what is our purpose, nice poem and very relevant to human society.

    Yes we do question that and it is incredibly comforting to finally know that purpose. Thanks for the visit Vandana,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  15. annell4 says:

    This is very good! So you never wanted to be who you really are?

    For most of my existence, as a matter of fact. Over the last few years however, that has changed and now I like who and what I have become. Part of that came about because of keeping a journal. In it, I can easily see the winding path that brought me here, to the me I am. Best part? Knowing that you wouldn’t have made any other choices. Life might feel like an accident on most days, but really have to doubt that now. Thanks Annell, you always ask the right questions,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  16. annell4 says:

    I would love to know about your new writing group?

    Like

  17. Sherry Marr says:

    I so relate, Elizabeth. Times in my life when I wasnt writing, I always felt guilty, as I knew I should have been. Until I found the online poetic community, no one was interested in reading my work either. Blogging has been the greatest encouragement to write I have ever experienced. I love this poem! Good for you making it through NaPo……..and we all “care to read” your work, and feel lucky to be able to do so. Keep on, fellow Traveler.

    Like

  18. julespaige says:

    I have always wanted to work with words. Though I didn’t call myself a poet until maybe ten or twenty years ago. I thought one had to be paid for their ‘work’. But then when you enjoy what you do is it work? All the questions, maybe a few stray answers…but mostly blessings and joys of sharing with others who travel similar roads. Interwoven we create the boat that keeps us all afloat.
    Thank you!

    Like

  19. Jinksy says:

    That last line says it all… 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

