Pssst!

For Miz Quickly’s Impromptu Prompts Day 11: I ‘ve got a secret
http://imprompt.wordpress.com/2013/04/11/april-11/

image_3529 fastening2

Pssst!

I have a secret to tell,
but if I speak it, it will
no longer be a secret.

Yet, the need to tell
it grows stronger with
each minute I keep silent.

Swells like a seed about
to burst its shell, and I’m losing
sleep with this deepening

itch to tell it, but know
that if I do, I’ll just be the fool
who couldn’t keep a secret.

Elizabeth Crawford  4/11/13

Notes: It’s simple and was fast. I am on my way out to meet with the writing group, and didn’t want this looming over me the entire time. Like Bly says, “Some days, you gotta lower your standards.”

About 1sojournal

Loves words and language. Dances on paper to her own inner music. Loves to share and keeps several blogs to facilitate that. They can be found here: http://1sojournal.wordpress.com/ https://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/ http://claudetteellinger.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Pssst! and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Pssst!

  1. Marianne says:

    Sometimes, keeping a secret can worry a hole in your pocket!

    Like

  2. Stan Ski says:

    Right… I’m not telling you mine then 😉

    Like

  3. Misky says:

    I hate it when people tell me secrets, just for that very reason. Well written!

    Like

  4. Pamela says:

    Secrets are meant to kept, Elizabeth. Nice write.

    Pamela

    Like

  5. Pamela says:

    *to be kept*

    Like

  6. Quickly says:

    Raskolnikov’s song.

    Like

  7. Mr. Walker says:

    Sometimes simple and fast is still true. How you manage to “lower your standards” and still get meaning in a simple and fast poem is beyond me. I think it’s delightful.

    Richard

    Like

  8. margo roby says:

    I’m with Richard and I love Barbara’s allusion! Yes!

    Like

  9. julespaige says:

    I too am with Richard, I don’t think you lowered your standards at all…and you didn’t even tell your secret! As an aside to you remember the show…”I’ve got a Secret”… contestants were judged on their ability to ‘lie’.

    Thanks you for your visit…I’m trying to catch up.

    Like

Leave a Reply

