Wordle #95

For The Sunday Whirl poetry prompt: Wordle #95
http://sundaywhirl.wordpress.com/

wordle # 95

Wordle #95

Foolish to court disaster
yet life’s thread gets tangled,
rolled into a knotted ball,
or becomes dry, looks like
coral-colored plume moving
slowly in listless breeze
of high desert noon.

Rarely do plans come
to full term without incident,
then it becomes terribly
tempting to grab opened
bottle, dive in, and bathe
in soothing dark liquid
of oblivion.

Elizabeth Crawford  2/10/13

Note: These words refused to come around because when I saw the word court, I immediately heard “When froggy goes a courtin…” and couldn’t get it or the scenario, I imagined, out of my head. Finally decided that I was going to pass on the wordle today. But, woke this morning with a different scene and managed to string the words together.

About 1sojournal

Loves words and language. Dances on paper to her own inner music. Loves to share and keeps several blogs to facilitate that. They can be found here: http://1sojournal.wordpress.com/ https://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/ http://claudetteellinger.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Wordle #95 and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Wordle #95

  1. Misky says:

    Oh, yes, may I please have some of that “soothing dark liquid of oblivion”? Lovely writing, Elizabeth.

    Like

  2. vivinfrance says:

    I love your determination, and your ability to use words in all kinds of ways.

    Like

  3. Stan Ski says:

    Ah yes, the liquid lunch… I know it well…!

    Like

  4. Sherry Marr says:

    Awesome, kiddo…….the coral colored plume in the listless breeze really pops, as does the soothing liquid of oblivion. Love it.

    Like

  5. Mary says:

    Ah yes, you are right. So often plans do not come to fruition as one imagines they will. Glitches occur, but hopefully disasters CAN be safely averted. A strong write from the wordle words.

    Like

  6. Old Egg says:

    The “dark soothing liquid of oblivion” was more sinister to me and seemed to resolve the complexities of the untenable situation.

    Like

  7. I know all about those plans that rarely come to full term without incident, and I suspect that most of your readers do—which is why this poem resonates with us.

    Another Whirl with Yeats

    Like

  8. Sabra Bowers says:

    Lot of truth in this poem…and beauty.

    Like

  9. heidi says:

    I like the idea here that trouble can be seductive. Excellent warning in the first line, and how easy to dismiss it.

    Like

  10. Pamela says:

    Well done, Elizabeth. I often times have plans that never come to fruition. I got a good laugh out of the process notes, and your comment about “When froggy goes a courtin…”, now that song is in my head, lol.

    Pamela

    Like

  11. Tumblewords says:

    Ah, yes, the magical bottle. Oh, yes. I like your poem!

    Like

  12. anl4 says:

    I wondered where you were…glad you got the key. I like your write.

    Like

  13. Gorgeous writing, Elizabeth. That first stanza held me prisoner.

    Like

Leave a Reply

