According To The Ratings

For The Sunday Whirl Poetry Prompt: Wordle #93
http://sundaywhirl.wordpress.com/

wordle # 93

dragonimages.net

dragonimages.net

According To  The Ratings

On a scale from one
to ten (as seen on
mirrored screen),
huge red dragon
skirting curved edges
of tattered mists,
might be awarded
vast number of points,
while bits of scattered, broken
straw, blown by raw wind
of dragon’s passing,
wouldn’t ring near as many
chimes.

Elizabeth Crawford  1/27/13

Notes: Have been rereading Anne McCaffrey’s Dragons of Pern series, after a thirty year absence. Although there are no red dragons in her novels, my first encounter with a dragon in my Personal Mythology, was with an awesome fire-red creature named Marananthaheth. She came to teach me about Creativity and how to tend the creative fire within. When the words arrived, there was only one place to go.

About 1sojournal

Loves words and language. Dances on paper to her own inner music. Loves to share and keeps several blogs to facilitate that. They can be found here: http://1sojournal.wordpress.com/ https://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/ http://claudetteellinger.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in According To The Ratings and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to According To The Ratings

  1. drpkp says:

    Lovely synchronicity for you – terrific images 🙂

    Yes, it was. Started laughing when I saw Brenda’s source. I am definitely one of the dragonfolk. Thanks for stopping in,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  2. Stan Ski says:

    I agree – dragons get the points!

    Always, Stan, the dragons are alive and well. Loved your poem about that face in the mirror,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  3. vivinfrance says:

    I love your process notes almost as much as the poem!

    Realized I hadn’t put up any notes over the past few weeks. Thought this one might need them, only to read Brenda’s source and start laughing out loud. Always glad to read your comments, Viv. Thank you,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  4. I agree with Viv – interesting to hear how the poem developed.

    Thank you Robyn, the dragons were talking to me,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  5. J Cosmo Newbery says:

    I think I might just stay inside tonight…

    J Cosmo, dragons come to protect and guide. They are wonderful creatures both inside and out. Thanks for reading and commenting,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  6. Jae Rose says:

    I am glad she found you and blew words into your world..dragons are never the thing we should fight..or slay..

    Jae, I agree whole heartedly. Dragons carry so much knowledge and wisdom that we need. Her words are a fire that warms my heart. Thank you for being one of the dragonfolk,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  7. This is very vivid, especially with the image.

    Thanks Benjamin, I’m glad I found the image. It was pretty much exactly what I was looking for,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  8. barbara_y says:

    Long time since I was in Pern. Big fan of the Harper.

    I’ve only managed two and a half of them so far, but immediately remembered my own deep fondness for Robinton, songwriter, poet, and prophet all rolled into one wise man who loves Benden wine. Thanks for the read,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  9. anl4 says:

    I love this piece! And your red dragon!

    Thank you, my friend, and Marananthaheth says “Thank you,” as well.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  10. margo roby says:

    If it involves a dragon, I’m there. Have had dragons in my life since birth and our granddaughter, born last year, joins me as a dragon. Both of us are water dragons. The image is gorgeous.

    I went looking for a red dragon in mist, and was so pleased when I found it. It’s great to know there are so many dragonfolk among us. Thanks Margo,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  11. Laurie Kolp says:

    Succinct & chilling!

    Thanks Laurie, I find dragons to be very warm and quite caring, even though they’ve gotten a bad rap in Western mythology. Have you ever read “The Fifty-first Dragon”? It’s about how our beliefs have far more influence than reality. Thanks for reading and commenting,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  12. Misky says:

    Perfect and rich writing, well deserved of a dragon, Elizabeth.

    They are such fantastic creatures. Thank you for your generous words, Misky,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  13. brenda w says:

    I love your process notes, too, Elizabeth. Synchronicity lives in our lives with abundance. You notice it…and that makes you a special soul. Thanks for bringing dragons to the surface in your work this week, and for sharing your personal dragon, too.

    Not difficult to bring them to the surface, they have a way of rising whenever and wherever they choose. The subject of synchronicity both fascinates and intrigues me, as you know. I whooped and hollared when I saw where the words came from, thank you, that’s a great way to begin the day. After being programmed to think that nothing I had to say was of any value, I needed that personal dragon more than most. She says she knows you, by the way,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  14. Veronica Roth says:

    Hi Elizabeth. I live near castle ruins at Burford, Oxfordshire, where King Authur’s father gave the town adragon. I bet it was red and breathed fire. Loving this poem. Well done for bringing the dragons back to life.

    Veronica, having trouble getting to your site today. Keep getting a browser error message. I just watched the made for TV movie, “Merlin” and Uther Pendragon features quite a bit in it. The color of a dragon tells you a great deal. Red is the color of passion and creative fire. Thanks for the visit and will keep trying to return it,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  15. pmwanken says:

    Yours is another I’ve encountered where the words seamlessly blend together. Well done.

    Thank you very much Paula, seamless is good, lol. I’ll take it to the kudo box,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  16. Pamela says:

    Elizabeth, when I saw where the words came from I wondered what you would do with them. You didn’t disappoint, Lovely and seamless write, my friend.

    Pamela

    Pamela, I actually clapped when I saw the source of the words. Think perhaps the dragons were whispering in my ear. Thanks for the seamless, that makes two of them in one day. Hugs self, lol.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  17. Another poetic portrait well done! Nice job, Elizabeth.

    Thanks Walt, I do so like those dragons,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  18. Irene says:

    What a great play with scales, Elizabeth.

    Thanks Irene, I like scales for measuring and for music as well.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  19. Nice interplay with the dragons. Pern lead me into a love of SCI-Fi that lasted until the good authors stopped writing or dropped out.

    Marian, am actually enjoying the reading. After so many years, its like reading them new. Anne McCaffrey really helped me see dragons in a much different light. So glad that she did. Thanks for reading and commenting,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  20. Sherry Marr says:

    Nice to be dipping back into beloved reading, isnt it, Elizabeth? Intriguing poem about dragons. I love the “tattered mists”. Your poem is imbued with dragon-breath. Quite magical.

    Like

  21. Mr. Walker says:

    Elizabeth, only familiar with those books in a vague, general way, but I like the imagery of the dragon and the bits of straw. Large magical forces move through the world, and we only know it by the little things. I also like the idea of the dragon as a muse, and the bits of straw as lines of poetry. Thanks.

    Richard

    Like

Leave a Reply

