Wordle Tragedy

For The Sunday Whirl poetry prompt: Wordle #89
http://sundaywhirl.wordpress.com/

wordle #89

Wordle Tragedy

Dearest Brenda,

hope you won’t hold it against me,
but these words you delivered got nasty.
Took them to my room, that place where
I brood, but somehow they ended up
strewn, like five-pointed stars, on all
four walls and the ceiling.

Then tried pleading, kneading them
into soft malleable dough, hoping they’d rise
for Sunday’s show, but they only
became hard lumps of coal, just lay there
and moaned about someone’s peculiar
ineptness.

So, put them in a pot, set the flame
beneath them to hot, but those hard little
kernels refused to unfurl, and gave me
not even one pop, nor a sizzle.

It pains me to reveal, what came next:
tangent of thought said those words
had been hexed. Took them all out back,
tossed them into a big burlap sack,
them threw them into icy creek, out yonder.

As I watched them sink, I poured a drink,
and made you and myself a promise,
“Next week, I can only hope to do better.”

Sincerely,
Elizabeth  12/30/12

Notes: Fun way to deal with the wordle angst that creeps over me on occasion.

About 1sojournal

Loves words and language. Dances on paper to her own inner music. Loves to share and keeps several blogs to facilitate that. They can be found here: http://1sojournal.wordpress.com/ https://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/ http://claudetteellinger.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Wordle Tragedy and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Wordle Tragedy

  1. vivinfrance says:

    Bravo, Elizabeth – your wit and ingenuity are on fire. Wordle angst is a regular occurrence with me.

    Thanks for the Bravo Viv, but it still feels a bit like a cop-out, even though I enjoyed it immensely.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  2. Stan Ski says:

    That was funny… Good luck on doing better next week 😉

    Does that mean you’d like me to continue in this vein? This is my streak of rebellion, raising its head. Won’t perform on demand, I’m afraid, but definitely neccessary for poetic survival. Thanks Stan,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  3. nan says:

    Ha ha ha. Good one.

    Glad you enjoyed it, Nan,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  4. anl4 says:

    I could certainly relate to what you have said about the wordle. Sometimes it just doesn’t want to be a poem. You said it so well.

    No, you said it well. This is all out rebellion trying to disguise itself as a poem. But, thanks anyway,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  5. julespaige says:

    Delightful. I’ve got a creek you can borrow anytime if you don’t really have one near.
    I was aiming for a short, non-story piece, but my Muse added three more stanzas
    http://julesgemsandstuff.blogspot.com/2012/12/sunday-whirl-89-oddments-non-story.html

    Mr. Linky has my Story Verse link which I managed a part 1 (not sure where part 2 will come from – yet).

    Hopefully the New Year will grace us all with unbound creativity! …Hmm maybe we should be careful what we wish for…After all we do need some sleep don’t we?

    Thanks Jules, but next to dairy products, Wisconsin is riddled with lakes and rivers of all shapes and sizes. When I need to drown the little buggers, I don’t have far to go. I like the sound of unbound creativity, but I’m sure that could get me in trouble. Today is proof of that.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  6. Mary says:

    Ha ha, a good way to deal with difficult words. Love your approach for dealing with difficult words. I am not wordling today, Elizabeth, but wanted to stop in and wish you the Happiest of New Years!

    So glad you stopped by Mary and yes humor is a good means of dealing with words, difficult or not. Thanks so much for the well wishes and the same goes out to you,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  7. Laurie Kolp says:

    hahaha… this is great… and felt! What a creative piece!
    Happy New Year!

    http://lkkolp.wordpress.com/2012/12/29/hot-cross-buns/

    Thank you Laurie, it was a lot of fun,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  8. Most creative! You win.

    What did I win? Thanks Brenda, glad you enjoyed,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  9. Misky says:

    Splendid! ;D

    Not sure this is healthy for that rebellious streak that sneaks into an occasional piece. Might get a swelled head from all this attention, but thanks Misky,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  10. This is exactly the sort of thing I like to do on occasion. Wonderful. Very creative.

    I think we all must do this or go a bit insane, lol. Thanks for commenting,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  11. You danced on the paper wonderfully with that one. Thanks, Randy

    At least I can still dance somewhere. Thanks Randy,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  12. drpkp says:

    Absolutely adorable! 🙂 Thank you for stopping by and commenting at Imagine http://drpkp.com where the words did take me to a grim place!

    Adorable isn’t the word I would have chosen, more like irascible or just plain angsty, but thanks for the thoughts,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  13. Tumblewords says:

    Laughing! I’m going through this with any old word or two. Makes me feel like flinging stuff in the icy creek, but… This was a fun resolution, to be sure!

    So good to know that I’m not alone, and it sure beats coming up empty-handed. Thank you for reading and commenting,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  14. Diane Belleville says:

    Excellent, I loved reading this romp in search of a poem that came out quite exquisite.

    Yes, it definitely was a romp and I thoroughly enjoyed myself, thank you,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  15. Mama Pajama says:

    ha! really fun, great job!

    Thanks Mama, I enjoyed your story as well,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  16. Sherry Marr says:

    I’m telling you, if that is “wordle angst”, then please do succumb more often. Hee hee. Loved every line.

    Figured you would, my friend, and glad that you did,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  17. Irene says:

    What fun you & we had with this meta-poem letter. A starry 2013 Elizabeth! May your wishes come true.

    Ahh Irene, now I gotta come up with wishes too? Keep breathing is the only one that came to mind and perhaps the best one of all. Thanks much,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  18. Mr. Walker says:

    Elizabeth, I enjoyed this immensely. Just great flow of story. I love all the cooking imagery and how you used “brood”. And the ending, with the icy creek, perfection. There’s no ineptness here at all.

    Richard

    I would beg to differ about the ineptness Richard. As a former editor, I could show you several things that are wrong or just not worth keeping. But, that rebellious streak does love breaking rules of any kind, and says its the principle of the thing. I actually thought about letting them find a way back to the porch where they sat and shivered with chattering teeth, until I gave in and hung a clothesline in my front room where I pinned each one to let them dry out, but thought I’d already done enough damage. One does have to rein in ones ‘creativity’ on occasion. Thanks for your generous words,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  19. Marianne says:

    What a clever response to the wordle words! I have been at odds with the words on many occasions and have felt like tossing them out a window!

    And I have been known to take a scissors to my carefully written copy of them, reducing them to unintelligable bits and pieces. That never works, cause I then have to go back and rewrite them again so I can solve the puzzle. This was far more fun and excilerating, to be honest. Thanks for the clever, I’ll keep it in mind,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  20. pmwanken says:

    While your own critical eye may throw this into the category of ineptness, I do believe your readers (myself included) have been thoroughly entertained by your cleverness. 🙂

    It was the words who named my attempts as inept. My critical eye says it could use a bit more polishing, but me thinks that would take the fun out of the moment and call for (dare I say it?), work. And there’s that clever word again. One can be very satisfied when play is entertaining to others and I’m more than glad you found it so. Thank you much,

    Elizabeth

    Like

Leave a Reply

