Nestled

For November PAD Challenge: Image #17
http://1sojournal.wordpress.com/

Nestled
Manipulated Pen & Ink with Graphite
by
Elizabeth Crawford

Like stones
and small pebbles
dropped in wooden box,
people form groups,
each finding a place,
own space to nestle
into, creating unique
pattern,

some are never able
to leave.

Elizabeth Crawford  11/17/12

About 1sojournal

Loves words and language. Dances on paper to her own inner music. Loves to share and keeps several blogs to facilitate that. They can be found here: http://1sojournal.wordpress.com/ https://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/ http://claudetteellinger.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Nestled and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Nestled

  1. Misky says:

    Oh, I love that. I’d also like to never leave!

    And sometimes I know I must, but really don’t want to do so. Thanks Misky,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  2. What an interesting way to interpret your image! And true.

    I’ll be honest, when that last line popped into my head, I almost didn’t accept it. It sounded too harsh, or sad. But life is those things, as well as others, and I know that you understand. You have set yourself a very difficult task, and I can only applaud your efforts. Thank you jlynn,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  3. JulesPaige says:

    Your interpretation brings to mind a few things…but the never leaving part reminded me of children who will not leave their parents home. And then also it reminded me of another gal I knew who told me that after she was married both her mother and mother-in-law lived with her and her husband until the elder ladies passed on. And she raised her own children as well. That is often the case with the Amish, though the children do marry and move on, in such a tight community of peoples it may seem like one is never able to ‘leave’.

    I went a bit shorter today with this series:
    http://julesgemsandstuff.blogspot.com/2012/11/images-17-nestled-series.html

    Jules, the image came about in several steps. It was a template I created from a line weaving experiment, then colored with colored pencils. When I tried it in black and white form, I liked the pencil work enough to keep it. My intention, when I titled it was something similar to what you wrote, however, the words seemed to have another outcome in mind. I have ‘belonged’ to many different groups, and have always been fascinated by group dynamics. There always seem to be one or two individuals who fight change as if their life depended on it. They seem to forget that life flows, always changing, ever evolving. That’s where the words took me.

    Elizabeth

    Like

Leave a Reply

