What Would The Neighbors Think?

For The Sunday Whirl: Wordle #81
http://sundaywhirl.wordpress.com/

this week’s wordlist: wrath, tumultuous, scramble, flees, shore, key, swelling, upbeat, depths, enable, rotten, charm.

and for November PAD Challenge: Image #4
http://1sojournal.wordpress.com/

Heartstone
kaleidoscope image from photo
by
Elizabeth Crawford

What Would The Neighbors Think?

Their beginnings were tumultuous,
like a swelling wrath-filled sea,
certain to create disaster.

All their neighbors scrambled
to make bets on the depths
of their down, then upbeat, caring:
how rotten it must be at the core;
which one would be first to flee
that small charming cottage
they had leased at the shore.

But instead, steady passion enabled
them to find a key, the heartstone
they shared and a fire, mutually
tended, that could never be
completely quenched.

Elizabeth Crawford 11/4/12

Notes: There is no such word as heartstone,  I made it up when this image was created. I am aware of the word hearthstone, and what it means. My sense of the image was that of a hearthstone of the heart.

About 1sojournal

Loves words and language. Dances on paper to her own inner music. Loves to share and keeps several blogs to facilitate that. They can be found here: http://1sojournal.wordpress.com/ https://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/ http://claudetteellinger.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in What Would The Neighbors Think? and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to What Would The Neighbors Think?

  1. Ah…so against all the odds and…the gossips, their love survived the tests thrown at them. Loved it.
    I liked your ‘heartstone’ word. It fit perfectly.

    Like

  2. magicalmysticalteacher says:

    First of all, poets make up words all the time, so you are in good company. Second, this poem uncannily describes my marriage! I read it and recognise “us.” Truly an amazing piece!

    http://magicalmysticalteacher.wordpress.com/2012/11/04/in-this-tumultuous-world/

    Like

  3. brenda w says:

    Against all odds was my first thought, too. Love doesn’t wither if we remember it is a verb. Excellent write. I loved your language use here:
    “All their neighbors scrambled
    to make bets on the depths
    of their down…”

    Like

  4. Marianne says:

    I love your new word! It works so perfectly here! And your last stanza is gorgeous:
    “But instead, steady passion enabled
    them to find a key, the heartstone
    they shared and a fire, mutually
    tended, that could never be
    completely quenched.”

    Like

  5. JulesPaige says:

    Not to make light of but this reminds me of the ad that states: What happens in Vegas stays in Vegas. What one does behind closed doors! All those things that others would want to deny – passion and love and a ‘heartstone’. Creative writers do indeed create words. And ‘heartstone’ reminds me of the stone that King Arthur pulled the magical sword from. If it isn’t a word – I vote that it should be! 🙂

    Thanks for your inspiration, visits, and comments.
    My Wordle is here:
    http://julesgemsandstuff.blogspot.com/2012/11/sunday-whirl-81-transformations.html

    Like

  6. Mary says:

    Passion, mutually tended, would definitely be something to hold on to. I enjoyed what you did with the words, Elizabeth. It resonates with me.

    Like

  7. PJF Sayers says:

    Elizabeth, I love the word heartstone. I can relate to this on many levels, as my own family were against my second marriage at first, but they now realize we are together for the long run. Enjoyable read.

    Pamela

    Like

  8. I also enjoyed the line ablut “The neighbots making bets.” Yes, true love should endure!

    Thank you Marian. I tried five times to leave a return comment at your site. Your capcha doesn’t seem to like me at all,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  9. Sherry Marr says:

    Beautiful, and I love the idea of a heartstone (hearthstone of the heart).

    Like

  10. Misky says:

    A very clever write, Elizabeth. I love poems that carry a storyline, and yours is captivating.

    Like

  11. Stan Ski says:

    It’s all about determination…
    Great post!

    Like

  12. vivinfrance says:

    Your heartstone is a great word – like keystone. This is a wonderfully imaginative wordle poem.

    Like

  13. 1sojournal says:

    Rapidly falling behind, so I will simply thank all of you for stopping in, reading, and commenting.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  14. 4joy says:

    so glad they overcame! don’t you just hate nosey neighbors!

    Like

  15. Definitely against the odds, but sometimes these relationships are better equipped than others to handle external adversity, because the two people know how to find a meeting point between their different points of view. About the nosey neighbors … here in Romania, people are paranoid about what the neighbors will think or say or do – so glad I (for one) have got past that 😀

    Like

  16. ingerma says:

    I love “heartstone”!

    Like

  17. seingraham says:

    Well done! This really is against the odds but it convinced me that this love would and should survive and the wordle words are so effortlessly used, I forgot that’s what I was reading so as I said, well done – truly.

    http://thepoet-tree-house.blogspot.ca/2012/11/fear.html#comment-form

    Like

Leave a Reply

