Somewhere, I Dance

For We Write Poems Poetry Prompt #126: Persona or Mask Poem http://wewritepoems.wordpress.com/

And for Musical Notes Poetry Prompt #10
http://1sojournal.wordpress.com

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c9KHo9z86rA

Somewhere, I Dance

In flowing dress
heavenly hues
of blue
red
green

dreaming dreams
that do
come true.

Digital Image and Verse
by
Elizabeth Crawford  10/10/12

Inspiration:
Somewhere Over The Rainbow
the Israel Kamakawiwo’Ole version

Notes: A great deal of synchronicity accompanies this post. I was playing with my digital images, turning them into kaleidoscope images, then turned them into a slide show, which may be viewed here:  http://claudetteellinger.wordpress.com/2012/10/09/kaleidoscope-slide-show/  Then, last night, I posted the Musical Notes prompt before watching a movie
with my daughter. She hadn’t seen it before, but I had many years ago. The movie ended with the song I had used for the prompt. I was bowled over as I didn’t remember that at all. The movie was Finding Forrester, and should be seen by anyone who takes writing seriously.

About 1sojournal

Loves words and language. Dances on paper to her own inner music. Loves to share and keeps several blogs to facilitate that. They can be found here: http://1sojournal.wordpress.com/ https://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/ http://claudetteellinger.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Somewhere I Dance and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Somewhere, I Dance

  1. vivinfrance says:

    I love the dancing Elizabeth, and your kaleidoscopic images are magical.

    Thank you Viv. I only dance in dreams, or on paper now, and I agree the kaleidoscope images are a bit of magic. Each time I do them, I learn more,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  2. Ron. says:

    Stunning visual and arresting poetry. Great stuff, E.

    Ron, I really like playing with color and the digital art allows me that freedom with no mess to clean afterward. That’s close to perfect. Thanks for visiting and glad you enjoyed,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  3. JulesPaige says:

    I like this combined version of the two songs. I remember ‘It’s a Wonderful World’ being used in the movie ‘Good Morning Vietnam’ – and for a long time I could not listen to that song. Because the visuals in the movie were not lollipops and rainbows.

    However just about a month ago there was a ‘sing-a-long’ of ‘It’s a Wonderful World’ at a gathering I attended and that too had helped to take the ‘edge’ off of a truly wonderful song.

    I like how rainbows dance differently for each of us. Scientifically because of the angle of sight no one person sees the exact same rainbow as another. 🙂

    Maybe it’s my age, but I got tired of the original version of “It’s a Wonderful World”, yet was never bored by “Over the Raindow.” The first time I heard this version was when Dr. Green died on ER, and loved it immediately. The two songs really fit together well. We do associate particular things with certain music. I bawled when Dr. Green died, but that seemed to make me like the song even more. Even I don’t understand that one.

    I didn’t know that scientific aspect about rainbows. They’ve always fascinated me and about two months ago, I actually captured my first one with my camera. Big day for yours truly. However, I do see them dancing, flashing their flowing garments and then disappearing quickly, like someone who loves to dance, loves the music, but is too self-conscious to stick around lest someone should say something. Thanks much for the visit, and I liked your pencil poem.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  4. Took me a moment and then ah-hah a rainbow. What a great perspective. Enjoyed.

    I like rainbows, they hold a great deal of promise. Thanks for stopping by,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  5. “heavenly hues of blue” I just love the assonance. Wonderful how you beautifully you captured that so succinctly. 🙂

    Thanks for noticing. The Musical Notes prompt holds us to fifteen words or less. The words, the rhythm, and the sounds become incredibly important at that point.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  6. Just lovely, Elizabeth!!! I love synchronicity…the little things that line up in my world…it’s exciting…thank you for sharing your’s!! I just made note of this movie, too!!

    People who know me are always surprised because I still get surprised when the synchronicity happens. They tell me I shouldn’t be, because it happens so often. I tell them I believe my child-like wonder is the cause of its frequency. The Universe loves that child’s awe so keeps making it happen. Hope you do watch the movie, there’s another one as well, called The Freedom Writers. It’s really good stuff. Thanks for stopping in Hannah,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  7. truly lovely! ♥

    Thank you much and am pleased that you enjoyed it,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  8. Beautiful image, Elizabeth and I LOVE the poem!!!!

    Thank you so much my friend. Your poem about the young girl shot by the Taliban moved me on so many levels. We take our freedoms so lightly, and for granted. I write of rainbows and dreams, you write about life and committed living. May we go on singing loudly for as long as we can,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  9. Misky says:

    This has such a nice swaying movement to it. Lovely.

    Thank you Misky. Movement in a poem usually means some form of music. Appreciate that you heard and felt it,

    Elizabeth

    Like

Leave a Reply

