Attempted Alliteration

For The Sunday Whirl: Wordle #74
http://sundaywhirl.wordpress.com/

Attempted Alliteration

Half asleep, caught movement
through exterior lit window.
A sensuous silhouette silently
sauntering past, dark tresses
flowing over bared shoulders.

Peering through only partially
opened eyes, thought as an artist,
how he could paint her in rich
royal colors of deep purple
and periwinkle blue.

Maybe write a lilting lyrical
love song of his own waking
wonder about this woman,
who had just become his wife.

Elizabeth Crawford  9/16/12

Notes: Wasn’t intending to be here this morning. Attended a family reunion yesterday. At least a hundred people and new generations of little ones running and playing. But, the list of words was haunting me. Thanks Walt, I think.

About 1sojournal

Loves words and language. Dances on paper to her own inner music. Loves to share and keeps several blogs to facilitate that. They can be found here: http://1sojournal.wordpress.com/ https://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/ http://claudetteellinger.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Attempted Alliteration and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Attempted Alliteration

  1. JulesPaige says:

    A family reunion – how fun. We are so spread out I think that we might just have to wait for the next wedding to be gathered together. Lovely verse – Reminds me of my newly-‘weddedness’ OK so maybe that isn’t a word? -seems like it was yesterday though over 33 years (yesterday!) 🙂

    I used Walt’s words to continue my Story Verse here:
    http://julesgemsandstuff.blogspot.com/2012/09/sunday-whirl-74stroll.html

    Jules, I liked your story. The family reunion was fun but also tiring. We had a beautiful day, great weather, and a ton of people. There are nine families in the circle. Only two were not represented. I used to be the one who knew everyone, that is no longer true. Too many new generations to try to keep track of.

    Glad you liked the poem. It came rather easily for a change.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  2. brenda w says:

    Oh, yes! The absolutely joy of being completely smitten… I love this piece, Elizabeth.

    Thank you Brenda. I’m usually not much of a romantic, these words seemed to beg their way onto the page. Just glad I made it here to join in,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  3. pmwanken says:

    Oh, yes! Loved that last line! ❤

    Thanks Paula, so did I when it came,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  4. vivinfrance says:

    Just wow! You have taken a similar direction to Paula’s, and yours is equally effective.

    Thank you Viv. If I’m honest, I have to say I prefer your angst to this mushy sort of stuff, lol.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  5. I love this poem, especially the unexpected closing line. Good one, kiddo! Your family reunion sounds amazing – a hundred relatives. Lucky you!

    Actually my friend, there are really twice that many. These were the ones who could make it by car. My brother was almost a casualty when a load of logs got dumped on the highway in front of him. We did a lot of gratitude for that one. Glad you like the poem. Not my usual but at my age, you take what comes, right? Your take on senility had me howling in agreement. Thanks,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  6. Marianne says:

    Sweetly romantic, Elizabeth! I love the ending, a happy surprise!

    Glad you liked it Marianne,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  7. markwindham says:

    Ah, new love perfectly captured

    They say there’s a first time for everything, lol.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  8. anl4 says:

    So glad you made it…and I loved the poem. Gratitude is perfect, a load of logs can fall on each of us, anytime.

    Glad I did as well, Annell. The load of logs was pretty scary when we heard about it. This one isn’t full of angst at least.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  9. PJF Sayers says:

    What a beautiful poem about love, Elizabeth. Just gorgeous.

    Pamela

    Thank you Pamela, it’s different but seemed to come quite easily. Like that when it happens,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  10. tmhHoover says:

    Elizabeth- deep within all the family moments, laid the perfect seed for you poem. A lovely alliteration and memory.

    I think I would have to agree Terri, I had thought I would simply not have time for this and yet it came. Thanks for dropping by,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  11. You’re welcome Elizabeth,,, probably! 😉 Nicely constructed and expressed.

    Ah the assurance and self-confidence sort of floats there above us, lol. Thanks for the words and the challenge Walt.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  12. Beautifully worded with a perfect ending.

    Like

  13. Irene says:

    I’m enjoying the artist angle in the poem.

    Like

Leave a Reply

