Advice To A Much Younger Self

For Musical Notes Prompt #6
http://1sojournal.wordpress.com/

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TtGY4G7II6s

And For We Write Poems Prompt #122: Words of Wisdom
http://wewritepoems.wordpress.com/

Advice To A Much Younger Self

Words, like rain, cleanse
quicken soul.

When written, refresh
fuel blossoming vines
of inner truth.

Elizabeth Crawford  9/12/12

Inspiration: Natasha Bedingfield’s Unwritten
Second reading of A Northern Light by Jennifer Donnelly
and the prompt from We Write Poems

Notes: The first time I was told that I might have a gift for words and writing them, I was in my teens and dismissed the suggestion out of hand. I didn’t really take writing seriously until I was almost forty. So much has gone unwritten.

About 1sojournal

Loves words and language. Dances on paper to her own inner music. Loves to share and keeps several blogs to facilitate that. They can be found here: http://1sojournal.wordpress.com/ https://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/ http://claudetteellinger.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Advise To A Much Younger Self and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Advice To A Much Younger Self

  1. Sabio Lantz says:

    “words cleanse” — how true for so many of us! Thank you. (We Write Poems)

    Thank you Sabio. Creativity is healing and for me that means writing. Cleansing is the first step, always,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  2. nan says:

    Lovely! I wish I had done more writing when I was younger. This is great advice and guidance to your sixteen-year-old-self… and mine!

    Nan, although I loved books, words, and reading when I was sixteen, it never occurred to me that anyone might want or need to hear what I might have to say. Until I started writing, I really didn’t understand how personally important the process is to my own growth. Glad you liked it,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  3. JulesPaige says:

    I think that was the one of the few things I did listen to…from a favorite teacher. Write! And I’ve been doing so since I was nine or ten. Even the teen angst years, I can see now were a type of cleansing. The paper accepts so much of us – each page a petal in the blossom of our lives.

    Thanks for your visit. The bit about the ears and mouth is from a choir piece – you’ve been given one mouth and two ears so you should listen twice as hard. Something like that.

    Sorry Jules, found this in the Spam for whatever reason. Although I was told that I could write well, no one ever encouraged me to do so for my own personal enlightenment or growth. It was just another skill I needed to get through school. When I finally, years later, began to keep a journal, I was amazed at just how much therapy and healing were there at my fingertips, plus how much I really enjoyed just doing it. Thanks for identifying with it.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  4. I agree with Sabio “Words cleanse” rings true for me too. But never shared or kept anything. Like you I too didn’t believe anybody might want to read what I have to say! love the poem

    Thanks and glad to know you could identify. It took a long time to realize that I did have things of value to say and that no one needed to hear them more than me.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  5. I love this, especially “fuel blossoming vines of inner truth”. Yes, much has gone unwritten, but you are making up for it now. And we’re lucky to be reading your words:)

    Thank you my friend, you are ever encouraging and supportive. Hugs,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  6. JulesPaige says:

    I’ve gotten interrupted in my comment process by my grandson…not sure if I left a comment or not…
    It is said that hind-sight is 20/20. Enjoy writing now, because your love for writing and expression shines through in your words.
    Thanks for your visit.

    Ahh Jules, advice to the old woman me, lol. Love it and it made me smile. I have eight grandchildren and so far, two of my granddaughters have come to me to say they want to be and do what I so enjoy now. Those first suggestions that were given to me, scared the hell out of me. I am fully aware that it took the next thirty years to finally give myself permission to try it on. I did and that is more important than anything else. This piece was written directly from the inspiration mentioned above, my present circumstances. Had I had the courage to listen back when I was sixteen, I might not have had the wonderful experience of hearing my granddaughters’ admiration and respect. No regrets.

    As I’ve read through today’s responses to this prompt, I’m aware that each one was something I would want to say to that younger me. And each one is something I will try to find a way to say to my granddaughters.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  7. barbara_ says:

    Funny, your advice is just about the only help I didn’t need at 16. I had written words, but not much more. Nicely put.

    Barbara, if you had your own written words, than you had a piece of yourself that I sorely lacked at 16 and for years afterward. I was always looking for something outside myself, only to discover what I really needed had been there all along. That’s what writing means to me, finding home inside my own skin. For me, it was a priceless discovery. Thanks for dropping by,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  8. margo roby says:

    ‘So much has gone unwritten,’ and, yet, we might not have written at all. That would be dreadful, even more that we may never have known what we almost missed, we late discoverers.
    I find the 15 word restriction refreshing in that one can say so much with so little. It’s a good lesson.

    So glad to hear that Margo. I do open that up on the fourth Tuesday of the month, because I have a rebellious nature especially when it comes to rules. But, I find that the 15 word restriction makes me so aware of the words and what I really want to say. And you are right, what if we hadn’t made the discovery? For me it has been the demarcation of ‘before’ and ‘after’ in my own experience of life.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  9. JulesPaige says:

    I’m unsure why I have yet to venture this way before…none-the-less…
    http://julesgemsandstuff.blogspot.com/2012/09/musical-notes-6.html

    Thanks for joining in Jules. I find that I do far more rewriting with this exercise and often end up with two or three stanzas that I must then choose from. It sort of boils itself down to what do I really want to say? Or what pleases me most? I like that reality,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  10. Marianne says:

    Lovely, just lovely … and I find that “words do cleanse.”

    Thank you Marianne. I fully agree words cleanse and do so many other things. Glad you joined in the fun,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  11. pmwanken says:

    I’m a late-bloomer, as well. I was well into my 40s when I started! As for the unwritten…we might not have penned words, but I believe they’ve been written on our hearts and will eventually work their way onto a page (or screen).

    Excellent mash-up of prompts, by the way! And…as one who favors the short forms, I love the 15-word restriction. 🙂

    Oh Paula, I would have to agree. The words are there, always waiting, sometimes jumping up and down to get my attention, while others peek shyly round a corner and have to be coaxed forward. So glad you like the shorts,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  12. ladynimue says:

    You took the words on quite a unique trail .. I so much like it 🙂

    Thanks LadyNimue. It might be because the song has such personal meaning to me. My youngest daughter called me one day, all excited to tell me, “I’ve found a song that is you!” Then she sang it to me. I have loved it ever since. Hard not to and because of its title, I see it as a song about writing and discovering what lives inside of you through the words that you write. Glad you enjoyed,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  13. Irene says:

    Pithily said, Elizabeth. I’m pretty much a snail when it comes to poeming these days. But like you said, there’s value in writing.

    Pithily, Irene? Had to look it up just to make sure I understood. Not a common word in these Northern Woods. And thank you for thinking so. Slow is fine by me (it’s all I know now, lol), better slow than never, right?

    Elizabeth

    Like

  14. anl4 says:

    I am moved by this piece. And what a wonderful idea!

    Like

Leave a Reply

