On Being An Instrument

For Musical Notes: Prompt #2
http://1sojournal.wordpress.com/

On Being An Instrument

Sing now
only on paper,

releasing words
that dance
to music
of my own making.

Elizabeth Crawford  8/16/12

*Inspiration was Cass Elliot’s Make Your Own Kind of Music

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SbSM02_1k34

Notes: When I was still a child, I asked my father if I could learn to play some kind of musical instrument. Because I could sing, he told me I didn’t need to learn an instrument because I was one. At age thirty, I bought myself a guitar and learned how to play it.  At age forty, I began writing poetry and have never stopped. There are all different kinds of music, but it must first come from deep within the individual. My father was a wise man.

About 1sojournal

Loves words and language. Dances on paper to her own inner music. Loves to share and keeps several blogs to facilitate that. They can be found here: http://1sojournal.wordpress.com/ https://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/ http://claudetteellinger.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in On Being An Instrument and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to On Being An Instrument

  1. pmwanken says:

    I love that…singing on paper. Our words do that, don’t they! 🙂

    Thanks Paula, I have always thought of my poetry as singing on paper. The music has always been deep within me and always looking for a form of expression. Your poem reminded me of a time when the music was a terrible ache, a loss that I thought would drive me crazy. Although it eventually returned, it was never quite the same again. Our losses leave marks.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  2. Marianne says:

    Gorgeous writing! I love the idea of singing on paper! I would be lost without my “dancing” words.

    Thank you Marianne. There have been times when I have been lost. I know when those times are over because the music sings both inside and out. I have been told that those times are necessary to genuine balance, I wish it weren’t so.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  3. I LOVE this! singing on paper, making your own music. Awesome, kiddo.

    Hey Sherry, hope you try this sometime soon. It’s fun and quite educational. Thanks much for your ongoing encouragement,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  4. ladynimue says:

    Perfect ! isnt this what each of us did 😀

    Yes it definitely is and each one different, ringing like bells. Thanks so much for joining us,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  5. He was. A lovely idea.

    Really good to see you here Tilly Bud. Thanks for joining in.

    Elizabeth

    Like

Leave a Reply

