Midnight Recipe

For The Sunday Whirl: Wordle #61
http://sundaywhirl.wordpress.com/

Midnight Recipe

Amaretto and orange juice,
blended with splash of sour,
tempers midnight hour
at end of hectic day.

Soft click of latch closes
out current draft at cracked
window, while eliminating
all trace of racket from next
door neighbor’s party.

Spare refrain of mellow music
draws string of memories,
striking gentle rhythms
in chest, which slowly expels
soft sigh of satisfaction.

Elizabeth Crawford  6/17/12

Notes: Recipe in title and first stanza is called an Amaretto Stone Sour. Drink of choice for an infrequent imbiber. The first stanza jumped out at me as soon as I saw the list (Don’t ask me why, I don’t know). Spent the rest of the day trying to find ways to use the rest of the wordle words. I may have to try my recipe this evening.

About 1sojournal

Loves words and language. Dances on paper to her own inner music. Loves to share and keeps several blogs to facilitate that. They can be found here: http://1sojournal.wordpress.com/ https://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/ http://claudetteellinger.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Midnight Recipe and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Midnight Recipe

  1. Mary says:

    The Amaretto Stone Sour sounds good. I am also sure that it might help drown out the sounds of the neighbors’ party; but then again sometimes a little background music CAN be satisfying. I enjoyed this, Elizabeth.

    The drink is mellow and I sometimes make it up as slush. I wasn’t happy with the poem, but sometimes the words take us to strange and different places. Thanks for commenting Mary,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  2. Irene says:

    I enjoyed it, Elizabeth, that it begins with a drink and ends with a soft purr.

    Oh Irene, wish I’d actually put the purr in there, sounds so much better, lol. Thanks,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  3. Laurie Kolp says:

    It’s hard to relax with a party next door, but music always helps.

    http://lkharris-kolp.blogspot.com/2012/06/its-just-illusion.html

    Laurie, I live in an apartment complex that, for the most part is fairly quiet. However, there’s another complex on the other side of the fence from my patio. Occasionally they do get a bit rambunctous. I close the window and turn up the air-conditioner on those occasions. Thanks for stopping in,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  4. I do not enjoy neighbours that like to have party’s and to keep the rest of the neighbourhood awake with their loud music at all. I think after 11:30 pm it is very inconsiderate.
    Lovely prose.

    Thanks ddt. I think most of us would agree. Loved your magician story,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  5. margo roby says:

    The heck with the poem, I like the sound of the drink. My kind of ingredients. I do know what you mean, however, when a poem starts itself and then sits back and says, Over to you.

    margo

    Lol, thanks Margo. Usually I just need that beginning nudge, but this time, no matter who much I begged, they just weren’t willing to cooperate. I’m blaming it on the weather: hot and humid. And the drink is both mellow and refreshing,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  6. brenda w says:

    All the words played into your piece quite well. It’s an observational piece defending the need for a drink. LoL I like it, Elizabeth. That sigh of satisfaction is a good ending..

    The sigh is all imcomposing, Brenda. I don’t drink at all often, but there are still those days. Just glad they come so seldom now. Must repeat myself here, Your poem is outstanding and I read it several times in utter fascination of what you accomplished. Really excellent!

    Elizabeth

    Like

  7. markwindham says:

    very nice, soft easy relaxing flow. Started mine with a recipe too.:-)

    Ah, but Mark, you took yours to a much deeper and gutsier place I did. There is no comparison. I think I was reaching for the quiet, relaxed, and peaceful place I created here. I wonder if we ever truly realize that each poem is some small moment of personal awareness. Thanks for your comments, more so for the poem you wrote,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  8. I felt like laying down for a nap…..great usage of wordles……lovely work

    Sorry, think I was wanting a nap. Didn’t intend quite that affect. Really enjoyed your storm poem, the wordles are amazingly diverse and versatile, are they not?

    Elizabeth

    Like

  9. I love this glimpse into a specific moment…so well rendered! Thank you!

    Thank you Hannah. There are times when poetry points me toward truth, as in your piece today, then there are those days when it draws me toward Amaretto and that soft sigh.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  10. This is just delightful. Shutting out the neighbor’s noise, imbibing a mellow drink at the end of a long day. Put your feet up! Brought a smile to my face.

    Thanks Cheryl and glad it did so. I think one of the strongest pulls of poetry, especially here on the net, is its ability to allow us to connect with such a wide variety of emotional levels. Makes us really human,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  11. From the beginning with the drink to the ending on a soft note. A very relaxing poem, Elizabeth.

    Pamela

    Thank you Pamela. My thirteen year old granddaughter is here for a visit. Relaxing is good. Your whirlwind of imagery amazed me as usual. You make my sea a bit greener with envy,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  12. I love that sigh of contentment at the end. Lovely, kiddo.

    Thank you my friend, just the opposite of your over active dream state. We are a pair, are we not?

    Elizabeth

    Like

  13. JulesPaige says:

    And sometimes a sigh is just a sigh…relief. OK, so you can spell relief with a cocktail recipe – fun!
    I have stopped asking why the words jump out and demand a certain order… I think they just want to write themselves and we are just their tools.
    Thanks for you visit and kind words.

    Do agree with you about the words and that at moments we are no more than tools. Sometimes fools, but that’s part of choosing to be a poet, yes? Thanks for reading and commenting Jules,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  14. pmwanken says:

    Elizabeth…I found myself sighing right along with you as I could almost hear the mellow music you were listening to. I read it a few more times through, just to be fully enveloped in the moment. Thank you!

    Thanks Paula and glad to know it soothed you. This is such a quiet little piece, but I find it strangely comforting, none the less.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  15. Lovely, great response, lovely.

    Thank you Diane. I think it might be a sleeper.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  16. I loved this, Elizabeth. I want a drink!

    Like

  17. Give me the drink! I want one!!

    under the surface

    So good to see you here, Gautami. And you may have a drink anytime you wish. Just wish that were possible in the very near future. I will dream about that,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  18. Mr. Walker says:

    Sounds like a pleasant evening, a little alcohol, shutting out the outside noises, and that satisfaction you capture so well in the last stanza. I like connection from music to memories to the “rhythms” of the chest.

    Richard

    Like

  19. Tumblewords says:

    Delicious! Love the image of this piece.

    Like

Leave a Reply

