Meanwhile, Back in Denial

For Sunday Whirl: Wordle 19
http://sundaywhirl.wordpress.com/

Meanwhile, Back In Denial

Tells herself it doesn’t
matter, sweeps away
internal chatter with fervent
stroke of dismissal.

Yet, residue remains, like dust
collecting over years, stains
skin of every vessel with smear
of accumulated grime.

Time can not be kept in a trunk,
and truth turns beneath cloak
of seemingly endless moments.
Desperately needs quickening
breeze to ease it toward
awareness.

Elizabeth Crawford  8/28/11

Process Notes: I often use the third person when writing about my past experiences; I am no longer her, that person I used to be has been changed by living one moment at a time. My poetry is, for the most part, personal. Which is one of the reasons I have come to relish these wordles of words and their challenge. This poem obviously links with the last few wordle challenges. The action of writing is often the breeze needed to circulate awareness. And with each wordle comes the renewal of that commitment to continue.

About 1sojournal

Loves words and language. Dances on paper to her own inner music. Loves to share and keeps several blogs to facilitate that. They can be found here: http://1sojournal.wordpress.com/ https://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/ http://claudetteellinger.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Meanwhile Back In Denial and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Meanwhile, Back in Denial

  1. brenda w says:

    “Truth turns between cloak of seemingly endless moments.” Beautiful. I agree that living one moment at a time is calming. There are some things, though, that persistently nag at me and try to muck up nows. It’s that dang residue. Your writing resonates with my spirit, Elizabeth, thank you.

    Like

  2. anl4 says:

    I like what you did with the wordle. You make it seem so easy!

    Like

  3. Mary says:

    Yes, the residue often does come to the surface; but, hopefully with time, it loses its power. Yes, one day at a time. And none of us are the people we were in the past (even last week!). Well written wordle.

    Like

  4. Laurie Kolp says:

    Beautiful, Elizabeth. Denial can be a heavy cloak. Cheers to living life a moment at a time… it really is the easier softer way.

    Here’s mine:
    http://lkharris-kolp.blogspot.com/2011/08/imprints-of-guilt.html/

    Like

  5. Mike Patrick says:

    An excellent placement of the wordle words. “Yet residue remains,” and often it does not diminish with time. It is only buried beneath more residue.

    Like

  6. It’s a wonderful feeling to be able to write about the past but, not to be who that person was anymore, either. It shows great strength of character and inner growth. Lovely use of the wordle words.

    Like

  7. Susannah says:

    “Tells herself it doesn’t
    matter, sweeps away
    internal chatter with fervent
    stroke of dismissal.”

    I enjoyed this and identify very much with the passage I have included in my comment.

    I really like what you did with the wordle words, (or should I say what the wordle words did with you. I am often amazed where the wordles send me, perhaps they are using us as mouthpieces rather than us using them?) Just my rambling thoughts, please excuse them. lol

    Nice writing Elizabeth.

    Like

  8. Elizabeth, beautiful poem and the last stanza is wonderful.
    “Time can not be kept in a trunk,
    and truth turns beneath cloak
    of seemingly endless moments.”
    How lovely.

    Pamela

    Like

  9. Beautifully written. And I love your process notes too. Such great writing, Elizabeth!

    Like

  10. Nanka says:

    Well scripted and love the imagery of truth turning beneath a cloak and surely it cannot lie there forever!! Loved the first stanza too it is what we do so often!!

    Like

  11. Traci B says:

    Wonderful poem, Elizabeth; I enjoyed the internal rhymes and the rhythm they create when I read it with my inner voice instead of just my eyes (kind of reading aloud in my head, if that makes sense).

    Like

  12. Mr. Walker says:

    Elizabeth, that last stanza – wow. It’s true and you said it beautifully. I loved the imagery of the cloak – and then that thought, that ending, with “awareness” – I love it. That phrase “truth turns” keeps repeating in my brain.

    Richard

    Like

Leave a Reply

