Wild Grasses

For Poets United Thursday Think Tank poetry prompt: #59 Grass
http://poetryblogroll.blogspot.com/2011/07/thursday-think-tank-59-grass.html#comments

Wild Grasses

Here in town, they mow
it down, never allowing
it to reach its full potential.
Level it, to raked sand
conformity of in-door
carpet-like comfort.

To see real thing must drive
slow down country road,
peer into ditches, or at edge
of fields, where it grows tall
enough to talk, to whisper

when wind combs fingers
through fine supple hair
as it ripples like water
dancing in sunlight, free
of cultivation.

Becomes safe rest for small
furred creatures, and potential

nest for birds who perch on stalks
to sing glorious hymns to morning.
Freely shares its space with simple wildflowers

then with grace, when it comes to seed,
releases its offspring on a breeze,


that it might continue to flourish.

Elizabeth Crawford  7/28/11

Process Notes: Think it’s obvious that I am a bit partial to wild grasses.

About 1sojournal

Loves words and language. Dances on paper to her own inner music. Loves to share and keeps several blogs to facilitate that. They can be found here: https://1sojournal.wordpress.com/ https://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/ http://claudetteellinger.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Wild Grasses and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Wild Grasses

  1. Susannah says:

    Elizabeth, that is really beautiful! I loved it. You have captured it so well in your words. I love wild grasses too. 🙂

    I liked your observation of ….
    ‘mowing it down to in-door carpet like comfort.’
    and the beauty of …
    ‘then with grace, when it comes to seed,
    releases its offspring on a breeze,’

    It read like a meditation to a nature lover like me, I saw it all. x

    I drew on observations from my younger years in my take on the prompt. 🙂

    Susannah, I smiled when I read your piece. I’m fairly certain there are very few who can’t relate to it. Great job, well done. I believe that this prompt just gave me an excuse to share these photos. Although the sentiments are true, I didn’t realize how many of them I have taken over the past few months. When I see the wild grasses, all I can think about is the varied and unseen life they support. Thanks for joining in,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  2. Old Ollie says:

    Yes…my lawn often resembles a meadow…beauty!

    Thanks Ollie, I agree about the beauty and find such rich lushness in meadows.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  3. One of my favroites of yours, Elizabeth! I, too, love the wild grasses. Your photos are so beautiful, they danced like your words down the page.

    Thanks Sherry, until I began the poem, I had no idea of how many photos I had taken of the tall wild grasses. It was harder to choose which ones to use, then to write the poem. That tells me something I really like and knew you would like this one,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  4. Beautiful, the photographs helped but, it was your words that drew the pictures.
    We hack it back because we don’t like the look of it yet, we destroy all manner of life that it might well hold if only we’d leave it to its own fate.
    Lovely prose.

    Daydreamertoo, not sure we don’t like the look of it, so much as the wild it represents and our definite need to bring order to our sense of insecurity and chaos that wild things bring to awareness. Wild grasses support all kinds of other hidden life, life that often refuses our dominance. And we are left with only our contrariness. Thanks for stopping by,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  5. Mike Patrick says:

    Without the benefit of the photographs, you words transport us to natures norm. With the photos, they make an overwhelming statement.

    I often wondered what was wrong with the inventor of both the lawnmower and the necktie: two things the world would be better off without.

    Lol, and two things meant to impose order and to contain, leash the wilder impulses of the creatures we really are. Really glad you enjoyed this Mike, it was very satisfying to put it together. I was deeply moved by your response to the prompt as well,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  6. I love wild grass too, so this poem spoke to my soul. You may enjoy this from my daughter’s work blog: http://huttsatwork.wordpress.com/page/2/ and this one http://www.pond5.com/stock-footage/935209/wild-grasses-blowing-in-the-breeze.html – my son in law took a similar one, but I can’t find it.

    But from a gardener’s point of view, there’s a place for a spread of mown green to provide a backdrop for beautiful flowers.

    Thank you so much for the article and the photos. And I agree about the backdrop for flowers statement. Used to be a gardener as well, but have always enjoyed those wilder spaces. They speak to me, draw me in, allow me to forget all that work needed to keep those more cultivated places. That might just mean that I’m a far more casual (even lazy) individual than others. I find deep peace listening to the secrets of wind moving through tall grasses.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  7. David King says:

    I am with you 100%. Furthermore, it’s a damned fine poem.

    Thanks David, I rather liked yours as well.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  8. Ella says:

    Elizabeth,
    This was so vivid and beautiful, I loved so many elements. The wind combing through it, the hymns and the grace! Great Job~

    Like

  9. Renee Espriu says:

    This is beautiful! It is true about nature and really, the best way I’ve found to be there is to travel there.

    Like

Leave a comment