Fumbling Mumble

For We Write Poems poetry prompt: Have Dictionary Will Dance
http://wewritepoems.wordpress.com/

Fumbling Mumble

Because of their mediacy,
poetry prompts are not mediagenic,
may even cause melodramatic ache
in mediastinum, or sudden
megrim with their melange
of meandrous choices to be made.

Might culminate in melic form
of mellifluous metaphor,
or mendacious exaggeration.
Still, they mesmerize, mentally
challenge we maybe hopeful poets,
until we must respond, mumbling
into our now cold morning coffee.

Elizabeth Crawford  7/20/11

Process Notes: Have been known to rumble, grumble and even mumble when first reading and thinking of responding to a poetry prompt. Nowhere is that more true than when facing off with one of my own, thank you, Neil (they always sound good when I think of them). This prompt was meant to widen vocabulary by choosing one, or a few, new or never used words, and creating a poem using said words. I chose to go with the letter M in hopes of getting my own angst resolved with a bit of alliterative mumbling.

Word Key:

mediacy – intermediate position
mediagenic – attractive to popular media for hopes of publication
mediastinum – chest region of all mammals
megrim – 1. migraine, 2. whim
melange – collection of different kinds of things, or objects
meandrous –
winding path with bends and curves (meandering)
melic – ancient Greek poetic form, meant to be sung rather than spoken
mellifluous – delightful or pleasant to be heard
mendacious – deliberate untruth

About 1sojournal

Loves words and language. Dances on paper to her own inner music. Loves to share and keeps several blogs to facilitate that. They can be found here: http://1sojournal.wordpress.com/ https://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/ http://claudetteellinger.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Fumbling Mumble and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Fumbling Mumble

  1. This is so clever, Elizabeth – I found your prompt great fun, even though I wasn’t as meticulously methodical as you in choosing my words. In a sense, they chose me!

    Thanks Viv, but I think with this one, there is a mutual attraction at work. I like the meticulously methodical. Those could easily find a place in this one. See what I mean?

    Elizabeth

    Like

  2. Irene says:

    This is impressive Elizabeth! I like that word, mediagenic, you mean, like photogenic! I also like meandrous. I’ve never used that word, I’m always meandering. Wowee! I’m looking forward to learning more new words from the rest.

    Irene, I am always meandering as well and really liked the sound difference in the new word. I liked doing the exercise once I had started. Beginning is another story, thanks for stopping by,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  3. Masterly, Elizabeth. I love how you chose to use the alliteration to run through out. “Melange” is a wonderful word. Thanks for the prompt.

    Pamela

    I do like and often use the dictionary or thesaurus, Pamela. Perhaps most writers are born with a dictionary gene in their systems? It almost feels as though that would be a requirement, doesn’t it? Glad you enjoyed,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  4. Laurie Kolp says:

    I imagine all of us sitting in front of our computers first thing in the morning, coffee in hand, searching for new prompts. Lovely piece, Elizabeth.

    And isn’t it fun Laurie, to know that others are out there doing the same thing and adding their energies to the endeavor? I know that is one of the cornerstone reasons I do it again and again. Glad you liked the image,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  5. clever write

    Thanks Isabel, good to know you think so,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  6. b_y says:

    MMMMMMMM good

    Lol, thanks Barb, I like that.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  7. Delicious… I think I prefer the second stanza to the first, rolls off the tongue more easily. 🙂

    Joseph, I assume that’s because the words in the second stanza were far more familiar than those in the first. I do envy the flow you seem to manage with ease, in much of your poetry. Thanks for the delicious,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  8. margo roby says:

    What gorgeous words, Elizabeth. I like the idea of choosing words from one letter. And, Joseph is right! The second stanza does roll off the tongue. I like the final image of all of us staring at our computers or notebooks grudgingly, while our coffee grows cold and we try to write to the prompt. And, thank you for the prompt. This is a strategy I will now incorporate, as my vocabulary can use a boost.

    margo

    Margo, I have had times when the words that came felt old and stale. Know it’s time to find some new way of looking at things. A change of even one new word can alter the familiar and start new avenues of exploration. Am glad that you are one of those faces staring over morning coffee,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  9. nan says:

    Okay, Barbara said what I was going to say: Mmm Mmm good. I really like the way you approached this prompt. Absolutely mellifluous! (I love to learn new words and learned a whole bunch in this poem!) Thanks for this prompt idea. I will come back to it – and even just build a poem around one new word!

    Nan, I really enjoyed going around and looking at what others did, and that final image grew to take in familiar names peering into dictionaries and scratching heads in decision making processes. Glad you enjoyed it, and I really liked the mellifluous as well. Will be looking to use it again, hopefully soon,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  10. Very clever, Elizabeth. I loved the mumbling into the cold coffee, which I do a lot of as well:)

    Confession? I can’t drink coffee, but allowed myself the privelege of joining the majority for the sake of the image. I mumble over a glass of cold water, but am sure the core sentiment remains quite true. Thanks Sherry and keep mumbling,

    Elizabeth

    Like

Leave a Reply

