Survival

For Sunday Whirl: Wordle #11
http://sundaywhirl.wordpress.com/

Survival

Freshly flossed teeth
create Cheshire grin
as limbs reach frantically
to toss paint flecks
on canvas turned toward
fading sun.

Previous worries flew far
from sight, clearing path
as he hurtled entire being
into latest attempt to answer
siren call of his own flagging
creative impulse.

Elizabeth Crawford  7/3/11

Notes: current wordle words are: fading, flew, hurtles, limbs, clears, toss, turned, reaching, fresh, siren, flossed, and flecks. Perhaps because I have been playing with colors and images for several weeks, the only thing that came to mind, when I saw this list of words, was a painter and flying flecks of paint in a frenzy not to lose whatever creative fire still remained. I also got caught up in the f sound of the words.

About 1sojournal

Loves words and language. Dances on paper to her own inner music. Loves to share and keeps several blogs to facilitate that. They can be found here: http://1sojournal.wordpress.com/ https://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/ http://claudetteellinger.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Survival and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Survival

  1. brenda w says:

    It’s funny, you don’t mention color, but the images evoked color like crazy. Thanks for your process notes, too. As someone who does not paint, it is interesting to have insight into your process. I like the quick pace of the piece.

    Thank you Brenda, the poem was a bit of a surprise at first. Then realized it really was coming from my own activities of late. I don’t paint, although I used to do so, in another life and time. Digital art is so much easier, no tools, other than a mouse, and no clean up afterward. Best of all, mistakes are not a disaster and can be immediately undone with just another click.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  2. I, too, like your process notes, Elizabeth. I like the frenzied feel of this piece, the painter and the paint flecks, flying.

    Sherry, I find it difficult to slow down when an image is actually taking shape in front of me. Which only means I click the undo button a great deal more than perhaps necessary, lol. Any creative process, even that of writing poetry, often happens in a rush of thought and feeling. It might last for several hours, but it doesn’t feel that way. Thanks for taking time from your move to come and visit,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  3. Elizabeth, nice piece. I also like the “f” sounds in this.

    Pamela

    Pamela, I think the f words quickened the entire piece, made it move fast and furious like the actions of the painter. He was very easy to see. Glad you enjoyed and I certainly liked what you created with these words.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  4. irene says:

    The ending is riveting!

    Thanks Irene. Riveting? I pretty much wrote what I was feeling in the moment, lol. And there is always that bit of let down when you know it is finished. All that frantic activity and then dead stop. And just as with the writing of a poem, there is always that temptation to go back in and do a touch-up here and there. I sometimes think that is no more than a desire to recapture that feeling of creative energy flowing through the whole system. You feel so alive and emersed and it’s hard to end it,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  5. vivinfrance says:

    I know what you mean about the f words 🙂 My first attempt produced a ridiculous alliterative line.

    Your poem paints an exciting picture of the creative process. Bravo.

    Hi Viv. I did the same thing. Something about “frantically flying fresh flecks,” lol. Many of my classes, when I was teaching, were about the creative process. It is a very familiar topic. Really glad to know that you enjoyed it,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  6. Mary says:

    Interesting title of your poem, Elizabeth. I think creativity IS a survival tool; and and after having read the poem AND comments, i find myself wanting to try digital art. Perhaps email the name of the program you use.

    Mary, the email has been sent. And your statement about creativity as a survival tool, is one of my favorite topics. I could go on for hours. What I find fascinating is that so often one form of creative endeavor often leads to others. And each one informs the others. I also believe that creativity is a built in healing agent that we often fail to use to our own detriment. Hope you try the digital art, it really is fun and relaxing,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  7. pmwanken says:

    Elizabeth: Your process notes, the pace of the piece, and the title…you truly captured that frantic feel of the creator…trying not to lose the current creation in progress. Brilliant. ~Paula

    Thanks Paula, creativity is a huge part of my existence and has been for a very long time. Just ask anyone who has come to visit unexpectedly. My house is a mess, but they seem to like what is produced by all my “hobby” type activities, lol. And there’s that word brilliant again. Some day, I may even get comfortable with it. I cerainly seem to have gotten comfy with these wordles.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  8. Susannah says:

    Wonderful, you captured the creative urge so well. . . I have been that person! 🙂

    Great that this came from the wordle, I had such trouble with it this week.

    And I will probably have trouble with the one next week, lol. Sometimes they seem to just flow into place, almost as if on their own accord. Then there are those other times. I found your poem both intriguing and relative, both versions. Of course, we’d prefer the first happen everytime. But, sometimes all that work pays off in other ways, the creative process always yeilds some rewards. Thanks for stopping by,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  9. Traci B says:

    Oh, I know that feeling so well! My desk is currently a disaster area of creative impulses. Great read! 🙂

    Actually Traci, my desk may be the clearest flat surface in the whole place. I need room to move when I create. I can turn my back on all the clutter behind me and have at it, lol. Thanks for stopping in and I liked your poem celebrating the Fourth.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  10. margo roby says:

    I love this, Elizabeth. The portrait of the painter is sharp and the poem moves with frantic fury. So much so, that I was caught up with the speaker’s description and carried far from the opening lines. I reread the poem but the effect is the same: I am startled when I come back to the beginning. Well done. I do love poems that arrive that way when I write.

    margo

    Thanks Margo, if they all arrived that way, many more people might be writing poetry. I like the fact that all creative process is similar in some ways.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  11. nan says:

    I too was thinking of a frantic painter, and love the way you created this picture. Really nicely done.

    Glad to know it wasn’t a fluke of an idea, Nan. And thanks for your warm and supportive comments,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  12. Renee Espriu says:

    Creativity waits for no one. Your words paint the picture. Well done!

    Thank you Renee. And to think there are individuals out there who wait for creativity to happen, when it is all around us, every moment.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  13. b_y says:

    You really do capture that chaos of inspiration. short lines. energetic images. then the smooth slide into contemplation from a distance.

    Thanks b, the more people focus on the mvoement within the poem, the more aware I become that I was simply moving within the moment of what the words immediately suggested to me. I saw the whole process and wrote it. I’m fascinated by everyone’s response to it. And, if I’m honest, I was a bit stunned at the ending, that it was done.

    Elizabeth

    Like

Leave a Reply

